April 13, 2000 Held


Republic of Korea

Election for Kukhoe (National Assembly)


Cast Votes:19,156,515
Valid Votes:18,904,740
Invalid Votes:251,775


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

The Grand National Party 133 7,365,359


Millennium Democratic Party 115 6,780,625


United Liberal Democrats 17 1,859,331


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 273 seats in the National Assembly (Kukhoe)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President KIM Dae-jung
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister KIM Chong-p'il
  • Assembly: South Korea has a unicameral National Assembly (Kukhoe) with 273 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the president with the approval of the parliament.
  • In the National Assembly (Kukhoe), 227 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 46 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** In this election, the number of seats will be lowered from 299 to 273.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: The Grand National Party (GNP)
    Leader: LEE Hoi Chang
    Seats won in this election: 133
    Seats won in last election: 139
  • Party: Millennium Democratic Party (MDP)
    Leader: KIM Dae-jung
    Seats won in this election: 115
    Seats won in last election: 79
  • Party: United Liberal Democrats (ULD)
    Leader: CHO Sun
    Seats won in this election: 17
    Seats won in last election: 50


Last Parliamentary election:

  • -Parliamentary elections last held: April 11, 1996.
    -Seats decided in the last election: 299

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 46,884,800 (July 1999 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 33,482,387 ( 2000 )