South Korea

Republic of Korea

49,039,986 7

Population (as of June 1, 2015)

Elections in our database

40,507,842 61.02%

Registered Voters (as of Dec. 1, 2012)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of State
National Assembly Kukhoe Assembly
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President PARK Guen-hye
  • Head of Government: Vacant*
  • Assembly: South Korea has a unicameral National Assembly (Kukhoe) with 300 seats.

*Prime Minister LEE Wan-Koo resigned on 20 April 2015 and has not yet been replaced.  

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the president with the approval of the parliament.
  • In the National Assembly (Kukhoe), 246 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 54 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** In order to gain representation in the ordinal tier, parties must obtain either three percent of the national vote or at least five seats in the nominal tier.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
National Assembly 2000-04-13 19,156,515 33,482,387 57.21%
President 2002-12-19 24,784,963 34,991,529 70.83%
National Assembly 2004-04-15 21,351,340 35,596,497 59.98%
President 2007-12-19 23,732,854 37,653,518 63.03%
National Assembly 2008-04-09 17,389,206 37,796,035 46.01%
National Assembly 2012-04-11 21,802,240 40,205,055 54.23%
President 2012-12-19 30,721,459 40,507,842 75.84%

Voter Turnout