Cooperative Republic of Guyana

739,903 4

Population (as of July 1, 2013)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of State
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government
National Assembly Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Donald RAMOTAR
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Samuel HINDS
  • Assembly: Guyana has a unicameral National Assembly with 65 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is indirectly elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the president.
  • In the National Assembly 65 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.***

*** Votes are tabulated using the Hare quota. 25 seats are divided between 10 geographical constituencies and 40 seats are in one, nation-wide constituency .

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
National Assembly 2001-03-19 - 440,185 -
National Assembly 2006-08-28 - 492,369 -
National Assembly 2011-11-28 342,126 492,369 69.49%
National Assembly 2015-05-11 - - -

Voter Turnout