Oct. 3, 2010 Held


Federative Republic of Brazil

Election for President (President)


Cast Votes:111,193,747
Valid Votes:101,590,153
Invalid Votes:9,603,594


Dilma Vana ROUSSEFF47,651,434


Maria Osmarina Marina SILVA Vaz de Lima19,636,359


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Brazil

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Luiz Inácio LULA DA SILVA *
  • Head of Government: President Luiz Inácio LULA DA SILVA
  • Assembly: Brazil has a bicameral National Congress (Congresso Nacional) consisting of the Federal Senate (Senado Federal) with 81 seats and the Chamber of Deputies (Camara dos Deputados) with 513 seats.

* The president is both the chief of state and head of government.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Federal Senate (Senado Federal) 81 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 8-year terms*. In the Chamber of Deputies (Camara dos Deputados) 513 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.**

* There are 27 multi-member (3 seats) constituencies corresponding to the country's 26 states and the Federal District. One-third of the senators (27 seats) are elected after a four-year period, and two-thirds (54 seats) are elected after the next four-year period. When two-thirds of the seats are to be renewed, each elector votes for two candidates. When one-third is to be renewed, each elector votes for one candidate.

** There are 27 multi-member constituencies with district magnitude ranging from 8 to 70 seats, based on population.

Main Candidates in the Second Round of the Presidential race:

Main Candidates in the First Round of the Presidential race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 201,103,330 (July 2010 )
  • Registered Voters: 135,804,433 (October 2010 )