Feb. 17, 2013 Held


Republic of Ecuador

Election for Congreso Nacional (National Congress)


Cast Votes:9,436,383
Valid Votes:7,353,695
Invalid Votes:2,082,688


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

PAIS Alliance 91 - 45,917,307


Creating Opportunities Movement 12 - 10,027,470


Social Christian Party 6 - 7,864,931


January 21 Patriotic Society Party 6 - 4,953,262


Multinational Union of the Left 6 - 4,149,243


Ecuadorian Roldosist Party 1 - 3,955,483


Societal Movement for More United Action 1 - 2,827,420


Institutional Renewal Party of National Action - - 2,636,894


Advance Party 5 - 2,567,161


Rupture - - 2,178,270


Socialist Party - Broad Front - - 698,365


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 137 seats in the National Congress (Congreso Nacional)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Rafael CORREA Delgado *
  • Head of Government: President Rafael CORREA Delgado
  • Assembly: Ecuador has a unicameral National Congress (Congreso Nacional) with 137 seats.

* The President is elected by majority vote to serve a 4-year term. Presidential elections take place under a two-round majority run-off system. In order to win in the first round, a candidate must garner at least 40% of the vote and have a 10 point advantage over the closest rival.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by majority vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the National Congress (Congreso Nacional), 15 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms, 116 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 6 members are elected by majority vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.***

*** The six seats are reserved to representatives for Ecuadorians living abroad and are elected in three multi-member constituencies. The multi-member districts were redrawn in 2012 to allow more proportional representation across the country.

Main parties in the electoral race:

****** Political coalition of left-leaning Ecuadoran political parties, including the Democratic People’s Movement / Movimiento Popular Democrático, Pachakutik Plurinational Unity Movement – New Country / Movimiento de Unidad Plurinacional Pachakutik – Nuevo País, and the Ethics and Democracy Network / Red Ética y Democracia among others. Together these parties won 9 seats in the last election.
********** Contested the 2009 Parliamentary elections as part of the PAIS Alliance.

Last Legislative election:

  • Prior to the 2013 elections there had been only 124 seats in the National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional). The number of seats was increased with legislation in 2012 to redraw electoral boundaries.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 15,223,680 (July 2012 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 11,675,441 (February 2013 )