Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

Democratic Republic of the Congo

86,727,576 9

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

40,287,387 67.04%

Registered Voters (as of Jan. 30, 2019)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Congolese Senate Sénat Upper House
Congolese National Assembly Assemblée Nationale Lower House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Felix TSHISEKEDI
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Bruno TSHIBALA
  • Assembly: Democratic Republic of the Congo has a bicameral Parliament (Parlement) consisting of the Senate (Sénat) with 108 seats and the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 500 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, usually from the majority party or coalition in the National Assembly.
  • In the Senate (Sénat) 108 members are indirectly elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms. In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 61 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 439 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.
    •  Members are elected by regional legislatures. Each multi-member district corresponds to one of 26 provinces or Kinshasha. The magnitude of each district is 4, except Kinshasha, whose magnitude is 8. The electoral system is open-list PR. Former Presidents may be Senators ex officio. There are 109 multi-member districts in the list tier. Minimum magnitude is 2. Each voter gets two votes: one in either tier.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Referendum 2005-12-18 15,505,810 25,021,703 61.97%
President 2006-07-30 17,931,631 25,421,249 70.54%
Congolese National Assembly 2006-07-30 17,868,580 25,420,199 70.29%
President 2006-10-29 16,615,479 25,420,199 65.36%
Congolese Senate 2007-01-19 - 25,420,199 -
President 2011-11-28 18,911,572 18,911,572 -
Congolese National Assembly 2011-11-28 18,911,572 32,024,640 -
President 2018-12-30 18,329,318 40,287,387 -
Congolese National Assembly 2018-12-30 18,329,318 40,287,387 -

Voter Turnout