Nov. 28, 2011 Held

Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Election for Congo DRC Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:18,911,572
Valid Votes:18,143,104
Invalid Votes:768,468

Vote Share by Candidate:

Joseph KABILA Kabang8,880,944


Etienne TSHISEKEDI5,864,775


Vital KAMERHE1,403,372


Leon KENGO898,362


Antipas MBUSA311,787


Francois Joseph MOBUTU285,273


Jean ANDEKA128,820


Adam BOMBOLE126,623


Francios Nicephore KAKESE92,737


Josue Alex MUKENDI78,151


Oscar KASHALA72,260

Election Results Modified: Nov 08, 2011

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Democratic Republic of the Congo

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Joseph KABILA
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Adolphe MUZITO
  • Assembly: Democratic Republic of the Congo has a bicameral Parliament (Parlement) consisting of the Senate (Sénat) with 112 seats and the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 500 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the Senate (Sénat) 112 members are indirectly elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms*. In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 60 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 440 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.**

* Members are elected by regional legislatures. Each multi-member district corresponds to one of 26 provinces or Kinshasha. The magnitude of each district is 4, except Kinshasha, whose magnitude is 8. The electoral system is open-list PR. Former Presidents may be Senators ex officio.

** There are 109 multi-member districts in the list tier. Minimum magnitude is 2. Each voter gets two votes: one in either tier.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 68,087,376 (2011)
  • Registered Voters: 32,024,640 (2011)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 34,179,862 (2011)

·         Is Democratic Republic of the Congo a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Democratic Republic of the Congo ratified CEDAW: Yes (17 October 1986)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 42 (National Assembly) (following 2006 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 176 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Democratic Republic of the Congo a signatory to CRPD: No

·         Has Democratic Republic of the Congo ratified CRPD: Yes, accession (30 September 2015)

·         Population with a disability: 10,213,106 (est.)

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

With Participation Rates