Republic of Tajikistan

9,292,003 12

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Tajikistan Assembly of Representatives Majlisi Namoyandagon Lower House
Tajikistan National Assembly Majlisi Milli Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Emomali RAHMON
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kokhir RASULZODA
  • Assembly: Tajikistan has a bicameral Supreme Assembly (Majlisi Oli) consisting of the National Assembly (Majlisi Milli) with 34 seats and the Assembly of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandagon) with 63 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the voters of the country to serve a 7-year term. Voters elect the President through a secret ballot, and an absolute majority is required to win. The incumbent president Emomali Rahmon was re-elected following constitutional changes enacted in 2003 that allowed him to run for re-election for a possible two, additional seven-year terms.

  • In the National Assembly (Majlisi Milli) 34 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms. Of these, 25 are selected by local deputies, 8 are appointed by the President, while 1 seat is reserved for the former president. All members are appointed either by the President or by officials the President has appointed.

  • In the Assembly of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandagon), 41 members are directly elected by absolute majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 22 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms. This is essentially a mixed electoral system with proportional and majoritarian tiers. In single seat districts or the majoritarian tier, the electoral system is two-round. Second-round elections are also triggered in any constituency with less than 50 percent voter turnout. The proportional tier operates as a single nationwide constituency, and parties face 5 percent threshold to gain seats in parliament.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Referendum 2003-06-22 2,431,451 2,873,745 84.61%
Tajikistan National Assembly 2005-02-27 - 2,771,528 -
Tajikistan Assembly of Representatives 2005-02-27 2,583,919 2,771,528 -
Tajikistan National Assembly 2005-03-12 - - -
Tajikistan Assembly of Representatives 2005-03-12 2,583,919 - -
President 2006-11-06 3,054,573 3,356,221 -
Tajikistan Assembly of Representatives 2010-02-28 3,289,377 3,621,174 -
President 2013-11-06 3,640,056 4,201,156 -
Tajikistan Assembly of Representatives 2015-03-01 3,791,827 4,323,634 -
Referendum 2016-05-22 4,038,183 4,401,516 -
Tajikistan Assembly of Representatives 2020-03-01 4,245,951 4,929,128 -
President 2020-10-11 - - -

Voter Turnout