March 1, 2020 Held


Republic of Tajikistan

Election for Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistani Assembly of Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:4,245,951
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

People's Democratic Party (Hizbi Khalqī-Demokratī Tojikiston) 47


Agrarian Party of Tajikistan (Agrarian Party of Tajikistan) 7


Party of Economic Reforms (Party of Economic Reforms) 5


The Socialist Party 1


People's Democratic Party (Hizbi Khalqī-Demokratī Tojikiston) 1


Communist Party of Tajikistan 1

Election Results Modified: Mar 19, 2020

General Information

At stake in this election:       

  • 63 seats in the House of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandogon)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Emomali RAHMON
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kokhir RASULZODA
  • Assembly: Tajikistan has a bicameral Supreme Assembly (Majlisi Oli) consisting of the National Assembly (Majlisi Milli) with 34 seats and the Assembly of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandagon) with 63 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the voters of the country to serve a 7-year term. Voters elect the President through a secret ballot, and an absolute majority is required to win. The incumbent president Emomali Rahmon was re-elected following constitutional changes enacted in 2003 that allowed him to run for re-election for a possible two, additional seven-year terms.

  • In the National Assembly (Majlisi Milli) 34 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms. * In the Assembly of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandagon), 41 members are directly elected by absolute majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 22 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms. **

*Of these, 25 are selected by local deputies, 8 are appointed by the President, while 1 seat is reserved for the former president. All members are appointed either by the President or by officials the President has appointed.

**This is essentially a mixed electoral system with proportional and majoritarian tiers. In single seat districts or the majoritarian tier, the electoral system is two-round. Second-round elections are also triggered in any constituency with less than 50 percent voter turnout. The proportional tier operates as a single nationwide constituency, and parties face 5 percent threshold to gain seats in parliament.

Election Modified: Jan 19, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Tajikistan

With Participation Rates