March 1, 2015 Held


Republic of Tajikistan

Election for Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistani Assembly of Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,791,827
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

People's Democratic Party (Hizbi Khalqī-Demokratī Tojikiston) 16


Agrarian Party of Tajikistan (Agrarian Party of Tajikistan) 3


Party of Economic Reforms (Party of Economic Reforms) 2


The Socialist Party 1

Election Results Modified: Mar 25, 2015

General Information

*Total voter registration is approximate, based on the total number of voters and voter turnout percentage reported by the Central Commission for Elections and Referenda*

At stake in this election:       

  • 63 seats in the House of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandogon)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Emomali RAHMON
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kokhir RASULZODA
  • Assembly: Tajikistan has a bicameral Supreme Assembly (Majlisi Oli) consisting of the National Assembly (Majlisi Milli) with 34 seats and the Assembly of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandagon) with 63 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the voters of the country to serve a 7-year term. Voters elect the President through a secret ballot, and an absolute majority is required to win. The incumbent president Emomali Rahmon was re-elected following constitutional changes enacted in 2003 that allowed him to run for re-election for a possible two, additional seven-year terms.

  • In the National Assembly (Majlisi Milli) 34 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms. * In the Assembly of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandagon), 41 members are directly elected by absolute majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 22 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms. **

*Of these, 25 are selected by local deputies, 8 are appointed by the President, while 1 seat is reserved for the former president. All members are appointed either by the President or by officials the President has appointed.

**This is essentially a mixed electoral system with proportional and majoritarian tiers. In single seat districts or the majoritarian tier, the electoral system is two-round. Second-round elections are also triggered in any constituency with less than 50 percent voter turnout. The proportional tier operates as a single nationwide constituency, and parties face 5 percent threshold to gain seats in parliament.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDP)
  • Leader: Emomali RAHMON
  • Seats won in last Assembly of Representatives election: 55
  • Party: Communist Party of Tajikistan (CPT) / (CH)
  • Leader: Shodi SHABDOLOV
  • Seats won in last Assembly of Representatives election: 2
  • Party: Islamic Renaissance Party of Tajikistan (IRP)
  • Leader: Muhiddin KABIRI
  • Seats won in last Assembly of Representatives election: 2
  • Party: Social Democratic Party of Tajikistan
  • Leader: Rahmatullo ZOYIROV
  • Seats won in last Assembly of Representatives election: 0
  • Party: Party of Economic Reforms
  • Leader: Olimjon BOBOEV
  • Seats won in last Assembly of Representatives election: 2
  • Party: Socialist Party of Tajikistan
  • Leader: Abduhalim GHAFAROV
  • Seats won in last Assembly of Representatives election: 0
  • Party: Agrarian Party of Tajikistan
  • Leader: Amir QARAQULOV
  • Seats won in last Assembly of Representatives election: 2

Last election:

The last election for the Assembly of Representatives was held on February 28, 2010. The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won with 71.4 percent of the vote, gaining 55 seats. This election was highly criticized by international observers for widespread electoral fraud, such a ballot box manipulation and proxy voting.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 8,051,512 (July 2014)
  • Registered Voters: 4,340,000 (August 2014)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 3 953 900 (2013 statistics) 
  • Female Registered Voters: 4 340 000 total number of voters, the number of female voters is N/A. However, women comprise 49.1% of the overall population.
  • Is Tajikistan a signatory to CEDAW: Yes, 26 October, 1993
  • Has Tajikistan ratified CEDAW: Yes, 26 October, 1993 
  • Gender Quota:  Formally there is no gender quota,  but there is informal instruction by the Government to include women in party lists for proportional representation elections.
  • Female Candidates in this election:
    • Closed list proportional candidates: See website (http://www.kmir.tj/tj/kmir/karorho.html)
    • Communist Party: 7 candidates (1 female)
    • Islamic Renaissance party: 27 candidates (7 females)
    • People’s Democratic party: 27 candidates (11 females)
    • Agrarian party: 11 candidates (2 females)
    • Democratic Party: 4 candidates (no females)
    • Social Democratic party: 6 candidates (1 female)
    • Economic Reforms Party: 6 candidates (1 female)
  • Number of Female Legislators: 9 (15.5% of Majlisi Oli)
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 133 
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: (latest categorizations are from 2014) Medium

Disability Data

  • Is Tajikistan a signatory to CRPD: No
  • Has Tajikistan ratified CRPD: No
Election Modified: May 13, 2020

Most Recent Elections in Tajikistan

With Participation Rates