Republic of Suriname

573,085 7

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

383,333 77.76%

Registered Voters (as of Nov. 30, 2020)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Surinamese National Assembly Nationale Assemblée Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Desiré Delano BOUTERSE
  • Head of Government: Head of Government Desiré Delano BOUTERSE
  • Assembly: Suriname has a unicameral National Assembly (Nationale Assemblée) with 51 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term. If no presidential or vice presidential candidate receives a two-thirds majority in the National Assembly after two votes, a simple majority is required in the United People's Assembly (Volksvergadering), which consists of 893 representatives from the national, local, and regional councils.
  • In the National Assembly (Nationale Assemblée) 51 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms. Members are elected to 10 multi-member constituencies. District magnitude is determined by the constitution and not population size.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Surinamese National Assembly 2000-05-25 182,912 269,165 67.96%
Surinamese National Assembly 2005-05-25 202,368 333,985 60.59%
President 2005-08-03 875 891 98.2%
Surinamese National Assembly 2010-05-25 237,575 324,490 73.21%
President 2010-07-19 51 51 100.0%
Surinamese National Assembly 2015-05-25 259,030 356,223 72.72%
Surinamese National Assembly 2020-05-25 274,714 383,333 71.66%

Voter Turnout