May 25, 2020 Held


Republic of Suriname

Election for Nationale Assemblée (Surinamese National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:274,714
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Progressive Reform Party (VHP/V7) (Vooruitstrevende Hervormings Partij) 20 - 108,378


National Democratic Party 16 - 65,862


General Liberation and Development Party (General Liberation and Development Party) 8 - 24,956


National Party of Suriname (National Party of Suriname) 3 - 32,394


Pertjajah Luhur (Pertjajah Luhur) 2 - 16,623

Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:      

  • The 51 seats in the National Assembly (Nationale Assemblée)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Dési BOUTERSE (since 12 August 2010)
  • Head of Government: President Dési BOUTERSE (since 12 August 2010)
  • Assembly: Suriname has a unicameral National Assembly (Nationale Assemblée) with 51 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.*
  • In the National Assembly (Nationale Assemblée) 51 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.**

* If no presidential or vice presidential candidate receives a two-thirds majority in the National Assembly after two votes, a simple majority is required in the United People's Assembly (Volksvergadering), which consists of 893 representatives from the national, local, and regional councils.

** Members are elected to 10 multi-member constituencies. District magnitude is determined by the constitution and not population size.

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Suriname

With Participation Rates