May 25, 2000 Held


Republic of Suriname

Election for Nationale Assemblée (Surinamese National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:182,912
Valid Votes:182,912
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

New Front 33 - 86,996


Millennium Combination 10 - 27,536


Democratic National Party 3 - 18,154


Democratic Alternative '91 2 - 11,183


Basic Party for Renewal and Democracy/Political Wing of the Federation of Workers and Farmers (Basispartij voor Vernieuwing en Democratie/Politieke Vleugel van de Federatie van agrariërs en landarbeiders) 2 - 8,176

Election Results Modified: Aug 30, 2016

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 51 seats in the the National Assembly (Nationale Assemblee)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Jules WIJDENBOSCH
  • Head of Government: Head of Government Jules WIJDENBOSCH
  • Assembly: Suriname has a unicameral the National Assembly (Nationale Assemblee) with 51 seats.

* If no presidential or vice presidential candidate receives a two-thirds majority in the National Assembly after two votes, a simple majority is required in the United People's Assembly (Volksvergadering), which consists of 893 representatives from the national, local, and regional councils.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the the National Assembly (Nationale Assemblee) 51 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.***

*** Members are elected to 10 multi-member constituencies.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: National Democratic Party
    • Leader: Desire BOUTERSE
  • Coalition: New Front Coalition (NF)**
    • Leader: Runaldo Ronald VENETIAAN
  • Coalition: People's Alliance for Prosperity / (VVV)***
    • Leader: Jules WIJDENBOSCH

** Comprised of the Suriname National Party (NPS), the Suriname Labor Party (SPA), Pertjaja Luhur, and the United Reform Party (VHP).
*** Comprised of the Democratic National Platform 2000 (DNP-2000), the Grassroots Party for Renewal and Democracy (BVD), the Party for National Unity and Solidarity of the Highest Order (KTPI), the Party for Progression, Justice, and Perseverance (PPRS), and Pendawalima (PL).

Last Legislative election:

  • The last legislative election was held on 23 May 1996.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 480,751 (2000)
  • Registered Voters: 264,961 (2000)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 237,559 (2000)

·         Is Suriname a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Suriname ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (1 March 1993)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 9 (following the 2000 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 103 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Suriname a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Suriname ratified CRPD: No

·         Population with a disability: 72,112 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Suriname

With Participation Rates