Republic of Mauritius

1,271,368 5

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

941,719 108.59%

Registered Voters (as of Nov. 12, 2019)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Mauritian National Assembly Assemblée Nationale Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Acting President Paramasivum Pillay VYAPOORY
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Pravind JUGNAUTH
  • Assembly: Mauritius has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 70 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 62 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 8 members are appointed by the election commission to serve 5-year terms.
    • There are 21 districts with 3 seats in each district, and 1 district representing the island of Rodrigues with 2 seats. In all but the last district, electors are given 3 votes. To ensure ethnic diversity, the electoral commission awards seats to the unsuccessful candidates who received the highest number of votes.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Mauritian National Assembly 2000-09-11 630,726 780,031 80.86%
Mauritian National Assembly 2005-07-03 666,301 817,305 81.52%
Mauritian National Assembly 2010-05-05 2,016,427 879,897 229.17%
Mauritian National Assembly 2014-12-10 697,231 936,975 74.41%
Mauritian National Assembly 2019-11-06 724,829 941,719 76.97%

Voter Turnout