Nov. 6, 2019 Held


Republic of Mauritius

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Mauritian National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:724,829
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Militant Socialist Movement (Mouvement Socialiste Militant) 38

Labour Party (Parti Travailliste) 14

Mauritian Militant Movement (Mouvement Militant Mauricien) 8

Rodrigues People's Organisation (Rodrigues People's Organisation) 2

Election Results Modified: Nov 12, 2019

General Information

At Stake in this Election:       

  • 62 (of 70) seats in Mauritius’ National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale)

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Barlen VYAPOORY (Acting since 23 Marhc 2018)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Pravind JUGNAUTH (since 2017)
  • Assembly: Mauritius has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 70 seats.

Electoral System:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the President, supporting a clear majority in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale).
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 62 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 8 members are appointed by the election commission to serve 5-year terms.*

* There are 21 districts with 3 seats in each district, and 1 district representing the island of Rodrigues with 2 seats. In all but the last district, electors are given 3 votes. To ensure ethnic diversity, the electoral commission awards seats to the unsuccessful candidates who received the highest number of votes.

Main Parties in this Election:

  • Party: Militant Socialist Movement / Mouvement Socialiste Militant (MSM)
    • Leader: Pravind JUGNAUTH
    • Seats won in last election: 33
  • Party: Labour Party / Parti Travailliste (PTR)
    • Leader: Navin RAMGOOLAM
    • Seats won in last election: 4
  • Party: Mauritian Militant Movement / Mouvement Militant Mauricien (MMM)
    • Leader: Paul BERENGER
    • Seats won in last election: 12
  • Party: Rodrigues People's Organisation / Organisation du Peuple Rodriguais (OPR)
    • Seats won in last election: 2

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 1,270,000[1]
  • Registered Voters: 936,975 (2014)[2]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 643,000[3]
  • Is Mauritius a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Mauritius ratified CEDAW: Yes (9 July 1984)[4]
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female Candidates in this election:
  • Number of Female Legislators: 8 (12%)[5]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 65[6]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is Mauritius a signatory to CRPD: Yes (25 September 2007)[7]
  • Has Mauritius ratified CRPD: Yes (8 January 2010)[8]
  • Population with a disability: 200,974 (2019 est.)[9]
Election Modified: Aug 02, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Mauritius

With Participation Rates