Dec. 10, 2014 Held


Republic of Mauritius

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Mauritian National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:697,231
Valid Votes:697,231
Invalid Votes:0

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

MSM-PMSD (MSM-PMSD ) 51 - 1,016,551


PTR-MMM (PTR-MMM) 16 - 785,645


Rodrigues People's Organisation (Rodrigues People's Organisation) 2 - 21,874

Election Results Modified: Dec 18, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:      

  • 62 (of 70) seats in Mauritius’ National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Rajkeswur Kailash PURRYAG (since 21 July 2012) *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM (since 5 July 2005)
  • Assembly: Mauritius has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 70 seats.

* Former President Sir Anerood JUGNAUTH resigned on 31 March 2012.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 62 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 8 members are appointed by the election commission to serve 5-year terms.*

* There are 21 districts with 3 seats in each district, and 1 district representing the island of Rodrigues with 2 seats. In all but the last district, electors are given 3 votes. To ensure ethnic diversity, the electoral commission awards seats to the unsuccessful candidates who received the highest number of votes.

Election Note:

On Wednesday 10 December 2014, Mauritius will hold an election for the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale).[i]

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: The Labor Party / Parti Travalilliste (PTR or MLP) *
    • Leader: Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM
    • Seats won in last election: As part of the AF Alliance, it won 41 seats.
  • Party: Mauritian Militant Movement / Mouvement Militant Mauricien (MMM) *
    • Leader: Paul BERENGER
    • Seats won in last election: 18.
  • Party: Militant Socialist Movement / Mouvement Socialist Mauricien (MSM) **
    • Leader: Pravind JUGNAUTH
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Maurition Social Democratic Party / Parti Mauricien Social Democrate (PMSD) **
    • Leader: Xavier Luc DUVAL
    • Seats won in last election: N/A

*Member of the MLP-MMM Alliance. The alliance is led by Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM.

**Member of the MSM-PMSD Alliance. The alliance is led by Anerood JUGNAUTH.

Last election:

  • The last election to the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) in Mauritius was held on 5 May 2010.[ii] Turnout was 77.82 percent and 684,768 of 879,897 people casted ballots.[iii] The Alliance of the Future won 41 seats with 1,001,903 votes, while the Alliance of the Heart won 18 seats with 847,095 votes.[iv] Results can be found here.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 1,331,155 (July 2014 est)[v]
  • Registered Voters: 936,975 (November 2014)[vi]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 676,333 (July 2014 est)[i]
  • Is Mauritius a signatory to CEDAW: No.[ii]
  • Has Mauritius ratified CEDAW: Yes (9 July 1984)[iii]
  • Gender Quota:  No.[iv]
  • Female Candidates in this election: N/A
  • Number of Female Legislators: 13 (19%) of 70 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale).[v]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 63[vi]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Ranking: Not Ranked (latest rankings are from 2014)[vii]

[i] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/mp.html

[ii] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[iii] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[iv] http://www.quotaproject.org/uid/countryview.cfm?country=154

[v] http://www.quotaproject.org/uid/countryview.cfm?country=154

[vi] http://www.undp.org/content/undp/en/home/librarypage/hdr/2014-human-development-report/

[vii] http://genderindex.org/ranking


[i] http://www.iol.co.za/news/africa/mauritius-poll-observer-mission-launched-1.1789074

[ii] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/1560/

[iii] http://www.idea.int/vt/countryview.cfm?CountryCode=MU

[iv] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/1560/

[v] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/mp.html

[vi] http://allafrica.com/stories/201411102158.html

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Mauritius

With Participation Rates