Republic of the Philippines

97,976,603 13

Population (as of July 1, 2009)

Elections in our database

52,014,648 72.11%

Registered Voters (as of May 1, 2013)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
House of Representatives Kapulungan Ng Mga Kinatawan Lower House
President President Head of Government
President President Head of State
Senate Senado Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Benigno Simeon AQUINO III *
  • Head of Government: President Benigno Simeon AQUINO III
  • Assembly: Philippines has a bicameral Congress (Kongreso) consisting of the Senate (Senado) with 24 seats and the House of Representatives (Kapulungan Ng Mga Kinatawan) with 287 seats.

* The president is both chief of state and head of government.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 6-year term.
  • In the Senate (Senado) 24 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 6-year terms*. In the House of Representatives (Kapulungan Ng Mga Kinatawan), 230 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 3-year terms and 57 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 3-year terms.**

* One-half of members are elected every three years. There is one national constituency. Senators are elected at-large from the country. Electors may vote up to 12 times.

** Under constitutional provisions, the PR tier must comprise 20 percent of total seats. While the constitution provides for a 250-member House, it also permits the legislature to change that size. Numbers above reflect the current apportionment. In the PR tier, members generally represent special "sectoral" minorities, though this constitutional provision was set to expire after three terms from 1987. (The 1987 constitution reserved half of these seats to said groups.) Under a 2009 court ruling related to the 2007 legislative elections, a party represented in one tier may not hold seats in the other, effectively reserving all PR seats to minor parties. The threshold in the PR tier is 2 percent, but no party may hold more than three seats in it. Prior to the 2009 ruling, elections would not necessarily fill all PR seats.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
President 1998-05-11 29,285,775 33,873,665 86.46%
House of Representatives 2001-05-14 - 36,521,799 -
Senate 2001-05-14 - 36,521,799 -
House of Representatives 2004-05-10 - 43,536,028 -
Senate 2004-05-10 - 43,536,028 -
President 2004-05-10 36,613,800 43,536,028 84.1%
Senate 2007-05-14 28,945,710 42,453,236 68.18%
House of Representatives 2007-05-14 - 42,453,236 -
House of Representatives 2010-05-10 37,293,960 50,723,733 73.52%
Senate 2010-05-10 - 50,723,733 -
President 2010-05-10 36,321,087 51,292,465 70.81%
House of Representatives 2013-05-13 31,733,698 52,014,648 61.01%
Senate 2013-05-13 31,568,679 52,014,648 60.69%

Voter Turnout