May 19, 2024 Held

Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic

Election for Dominican Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:4,429,079
Valid Votes:4,365,147
Invalid Votes:63,932

Vote Share by Candidate:

Luis ABINADER2,507,297


Leonel FERNÁNDEZ Reyna1,259,427


Abel MARTÍNEZ Durán453,468


Results Notes

Results Source: Junta Central Electoral

Election Results Modified: May 29, 2024

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • The Presidency of the Dominican Republic 

Elections for the Senate and Chamber of Deputies will occur concurrently.

  • Chief of State: President Luís Rodolfo ABINADER Corona (since 16 August 2020) 

  • Head of Government: President Luís Rodolfo ABINADER Corona (since 16 August 2020) 

  • Assembly: bicameral National Congress (Congreso Nacional) with a 32-seat Senate (Senado) and a 190-seat Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados)

  • The president is directly elected (on a slate with the Vice President) by absolute majority vote in up to two rounds. The President may serve up to two 4-year terms, which must be consecutive (i.e., if an incumbent runs for reelection and is defeated, they may not run again). 

  • In the Senate, 26 members are directly elected by plurality vote from single-seat constituencies. An additional 6 members are indirectly elected based on province-level party-list votes in the Chamber of Deputies election. 

  • In the Chamber of Deputies, 178 members are directly elected by closed-list proportional representation vote from multi-seat constituencies. An additional 5 members are elected from a nationwide constituency, and 7 members are elected from a diaspora constituency, all via plurality vote. All 190 members serve 4-year terms.

In the 2020 presidential election, Luís ABINADER Corona (PRM) won in the first round with 52.53% of the vote, defeating four other candidates. Voter turnout was 54.78%.

Information for Voters: 

Como votar / How to vote (in Spanish)

Key Deadlines: 

  • 21 January 2024 for overseas voters

  • Luís ABINADER Corona 

  • Partido Revolucionario Moderno (PRM) 

  • Abel Atahualpa MARTÍNEZ Durán 

  • Partido de la Liberación Dominicana (PLD) 

  • Leonel Antonio FERNÁNDEZ Reyna  

  • Partido Fuerza del Pueblo (PFP) 

  • Miguel Octavio VARGAS Maldonado 

  • Partido Revolucionario Dominicano (PRD) 

  • Maria Teresa CABRERA Ulloa 

  • Frente Amplo (FAMP) 

  • Fulgencio Marcelo SEVERINO Cruz 

  • Partido Patria para Todos y Todas (PPT) 

  • Carlos Manuel PEÑA Batista 

  • Partido Generación de Servidores (PGS) 

  • Virginia Antares RODRÍGUEZ Grullón 

  • Partido Opción Democrática (POD) 

  • Roque Alejandro ESPAILLAT Tavarez 

  • Partido Esperanza Democrática (PED)

Population and Registered Voters: 

Gender Data: 

  • Gender Quota:  Party lists for Chamber of Deputies elections must consist of 40-60% men and 40-60% women. 

  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes 

Disability Data: 

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 18 August 2009 

  • Projected population with a disability: 1,796,611 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in the Dominican Republic: No 

  • Election Access: Yes 

  • Election Judgements:  Yes, 8 resources 

Election Modified: May 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Dominican Republic

With Participation Rates