June 12, 2021 Confirmed


People's Democratic Republic of Algeria

Election for Al-Majlis Ech-Chaabi Al-Watani (Algerian National People's Assembly)

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 462 seats in the National People's Assembly (Al-Majlis Al-Chaabi Al-Watani)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State:  President Abdelmadjid TEBBOUNE (since 19 April 2019)
  • Head of Government:  Prime Minister Abdelaziz DJERA (since 28 December 2019)
  • Assembly:  Algeria has a bicameral Parliament consisting of an upper house of 144 seats, the Council of the Nation (Majlis al-Oumma), and a lower house of 462 seats, the National People's Assembly (Al-Majlis Ech-Chaabi Al-Watani).