Jan. 10, 2021 Held


Kyrgyz Republic

Election for Kyrgyz Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,395,513
Valid Votes:1,384,466
Invalid Votes:11,047

Vote Share by Candidate:

Sadyr Japarov1,105,248


Adakhan MADUMAROV94,741


Babur Tolbayev32,979


Myktybek Arstanbek23,583

Election Results Modified: Feb 10, 2021

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of Kyrgyzstan

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Talant MAMYTOV (since 14 November 2020)* 
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Artem NOVIKOV (since 14 November 2020)
  • Assembly: Unicameral Supreme Council (Jogorku Kenesh) with 120 seats

Following the October 4, 2020, parliamentary elections, which resulted in mass protests and invalidation of the election results, the President of the Kyrgyz Republic, Sooronbai Jeenbekov, issued a public statement of voluntary resignation on October 15. In accordance with the Constitutional Law of the Kyrgyz Republic, early presidential elections must be scheduled by the Jogorku Kenesh (Parliament) within a week of resignations or terminations. Moreover, elections must be held within three months of the resignation date. This timeline shortens the standard pre-election period by one month. Despite this provision, the Jogorku Kenesh did not schedule early presidential elections until October 23, one day after the deadline stated in the Constitution. In accordance with the constitutional law, the Central Election Commission scheduled early presidential elections for January 10, 2021.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is directly elected by absolute majority popular vote (in 2 rounds if necessary) for a single 6-year term.

Candidates in this election:

The Central Election Commission officially registered 18 of the 65 nominated presidential candidates. While seven women were nominated, only one, Klara Sooronkulova, will be running in the election. Along with the “against all” option, the 18 candidates will appear on a ballot paper in the following order based on lot drawn on December 19:

  • Japarov Sadyr;
  • Isaev Kanatbek;
  • • Arstanbek Myktybek;
  • Sooronkulova Klara;
  • Tashov Imamidin;
  • Tagaev Rashid (eventually withdrew from the race on December 30);
  • Segizbaev Abdil;
  • Madumarov Adakhan;
  • Kasenov Aimen;
  • Kochkorov Ulukbek;
  • Bayguttiev Jenishbek;
  • Abakirov Eldar;
  • Asanov Kursan;
  • Abdyldaev Arstanbek;
  • Dzhenbekov Ravshan;
  • Kalmamatov Baktybek;
  • Tolbaev Babyrzhan; and
  • Imanaliev Kanybek
Election Modified: Aug 23, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Kyrgyzstan

With Participation Rates