Oct. 1, 2020 Held



Election for Bermudian House of Assembly


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:25,980
Valid Votes:25,760
Invalid Votes:220

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Progressive Labour Party 30 - 15,995


One Bermuda Alliance 6 - 8,314


Free Democratic Movement (Free Democratic Movement) - - 1,384

Election Results Modified: Aug 17, 2023

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 36 seats in the House of Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *

  • Head of Government: Premier David BURT**

  • Assembly: Bermuda has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 11 seats and the House of Assembly with 36 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor John RANKIN.

** Progressive Labour Party Leader David BURT was elected Premier in this election.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary head of state.

  • Premier is appointed by the governor.

  • In the Senate 11 members are appointed to serve 5-year terms*. In the House of Assembly 36 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

* Members of the Senate are appointed by the governor, the premier and members of the opposition parties.


Main parties in the electoral race:

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Bermuda

With Participation Rates