Nov. 16, 2019 Held

Sri Lanka

Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Election for Sri Lankan Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:13,387,951
Valid Votes:13,252,499
Invalid Votes:135,452

Vote Share by Candidate:

Mahinda RAJAPAKSHA6,924,255


Sajith Premadasa5,564,239


Anura Kumara Dissanayaka418,553

Election Results Modified: Nov 25, 2019

General Information

At Stake in this Election:       

  • The office of President of Sri Lanka.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Maithripala SIRISENA (since 9 January 2015)
  • Head of Government: President Maithripala SIRISENA (since 9 January 2015)
  • Assembly:  Sri Lanka has a unicameral Parliament with 225 seats.

Electoral System:

  • The President is elected through a contingent vote system to serve a 5-year term.*
  • In the Parliament 225 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.**

*Under the contingent vote system, voters may rank up to three candidates. If no candidate wins a majority in the first round of counting, ballots whose first rankings are eliminated candidates are redistributed to the next-ranked candidates on those ballots. The winner is the candidate with the most votes after this second round of counting.

** Parties must clear a threshold of one-eighth of votes to win seats in the respective constituency. Each voter may cast three preference votes. There are 22 multi-member constituencies containing 196 seats and one nationwide constituency with 29 seats.

Main Candidates in this Election:

There are 35 total candidates running for the Presidency[1].

  • Candidate: Sajith PREMADASA
    • Party: New Democratic Front
  • Candidate: Gotabhaya RAJAPAKSA
    • Party: Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP)
  • Candidate: Anura Kumara DISSANAYAKA
    • Party: Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP)
  • Candidate: Mahesh SENANAYAKE
    • Party: National People's Party
  • Candidate:  Ajantha PERERA
    • Party: Socialist Party of Sri Lanka
  • Candidate:  Rohan PALLEWATTE
    • Party: National Freedom Front
  • Candidate: Duminda NAGAMUWA
    • Party: Frontline Socialist Party (FLSP)
  • Candidate: Jayantha KETAGODA
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Siripala AMARASINGHE
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Aparekke PUNNANANDA THERO
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Saman PERERA
    • Party: Our Power of People Party
  • Candidate: Ariyawansha DISSANAYAKE
    • Party: Democratic United National Front (DUNF)
  • Candidate: Sirithunga JAYASURIYA
    • Party: United Socialist Party (USP)
  • Candidate Warnakulasooriya Milroy Surgeus FERNANDO
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Badde GAMAGE NANDIMITHRA
    • Party: Nava Sama Samaja Party (NSSP)
  • Candidate:  Pani WIJESIRIWARDENE
  • Candidate: Sarath MANAMENDRA
    • Party: New Sinhala Heritage
  • Candidate:  A. S. P. LIYANAGE
    • Party: Sri Lanka Labour Party
  • Candidate:  Chandrasekara Herath Hitihami Koralalage SAMANSIRI
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Sarath KEERTHIRATHNA
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Anuruddha POLGAMPOLA
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Samaraweera WEERAVANNI
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Ashoka WADIGAMANGAWA
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Battaramulle SEELARATHANA THERO
    • Party: Jana Setha Peramuna
  • Candidate: Idroos Mohamadhu ILLIYAS
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Piyasiri WIJENAYAKE
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: Rajiva WIJESINHA
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate:  Aruna DE SOYZA
    • Party: Democratic National Movement
  • Candidate: Ajantha DE ZOYSA
    • Party: Ruhunu Janatha Peramuna
  • Candidate: Namal RAJAPAKSA
    • Party: National Unity Alliance
  • Candidate: M. K. SHIVAJILINGAM
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: M. L. A. M. HIZBULLAH
    • Party: Independent
  • Candidate: P.M. EDIRISINGHE
    • Party: Okkoma Wasiyo Okkoma Rajawaru Sanwidhanaya
  • Candidate: A.H.M. ALAVI
  • Candidate: Subbramaniyam GUNARATNAM
    • Party:  Our National Front

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 21,324,000[2]
  • Registered Voters: 15,992,096 (2018)[3]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 11,090,000[4]
  • Is Sri Lanka a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)[5]
  • Has Sri Lanka ratified CEDAW: Yes (5 October 1981)[6]
  • Gender Quota: No[7]
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 12 (5.3%)[8]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 76[9]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High[10]

Disability Data:

  • Is Sri Lanka a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)[11]
  • Has Sri Lanka ratified CRPD: Yes (8 February 2016)[12]
  • Population with a disability: 3,308,023 (2019 est.)[13]
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Sri Lanka

With Participation Rates