Jan. 19, 2020 Held


Union of the Comoros

Election for Assemblée de l'Union (Comoran Assembly of the Union)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:195,773
Valid Votes:186,773
Invalid Votes:9,000

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Convention for the Renewal of the Comoros (CRC) (Convention pour le Renouveau des Comores, CRC) 16 - 113,826


Independents (Independents) 2 - 57,555


Orange Party (Orange Party) 1 - 8,073


Rally for an Alternative of Harmonious and Integrated Development (RADHI) (Rassemblement pour une Alternative de Développement Harmonieux et Intégré, RADHI) - - 4,949


Democratic Rally of the Comoros (RDC) (Rassemblement Démocratique des Comores, RDC) - - 2,370

Election Results Modified: Apr 13, 2020

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 24 seats in Comoros’ Assembly of the Union (Assemblée de l'Union)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Azali ASSOUMANI (since 26 May 2016) *
  • Head of Government: President Azali ASSOUMANI (since 26 May 2016)
  • Assembly: Comoros has a unicameral Assembly of the Union (Assemblée de l'Union) with 33 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The 33 members of the Assembly were elected by two methods: 24 members were directly elected in single-member constituencies using the two-round system, whilst nine members (three from each) were elected by the Island assemblies of Anjouan, Grande Comore and Mohéli.
Election Modified: Aug 02, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Comoros

With Participation Rates