July 26, 2017 Held

Saint Helena

Saint Helena

Election for Saint Helenian Legislative Council


Cast Votes:1,106
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Independents 12 - 1,106


More Info:

Saint Helena: Legislative Council, 26 July 2017

At stake in this election:

  • 12 seats in the Legislative Council

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Governor Lisa PHILLIPS
  • Assembly: Saint Helena has a unicameral Legislative Council with 12 seats.

* The executive authority of St Helena is invested in Her Majesty and exercised on her behalf by the Governor.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary head of state.
  • Governor is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the Legislative Council, 12 members are elected by popular vote to serve 4-year terms and 3 members are designated ex officio to serve 4-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Independent(s): Independents*
    • Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in last election: 12

* There is no party system on St. Helena, but rather a Committee system in the Legislative Council. Upon the closure of nominations on July 2, 2013, 20 candidates have been nominated to compete in the election. A full list of the winners can be found here.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 4,000 ( 2008 St. Helena Population Census)
  • Registered Voters: 2,309 (July 2013 )