Saint Helena

Saint Helena

4,096 3

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

2,309 51.39%

Registered Voters (as of None)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Saint Helenian Legislative Council Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II
  • Head of Government: Governor Lisa PHILLIPS
  • Assembly: Saint Helena has a unicameral Legislative Council with 12 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary.
  • Governor is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the Legislative Council, 12 members are elected by popular vote to serve 4-year terms and 3 members are designated ex officio to serve 4-year terms. The election law of Saint Helena was changed prior to the 2013 parliamentary election, where all candidates stood in a single constituency. Previously, members had been elected in 2 multi-member constituencies, with 6 seats in each.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Saint Helenian Legislative Council 2005-08-31 - - -
Saint Helenian Legislative Council 2013-07-17 1,267 2,309 54.87%
Saint Helenian Legislative Council 2017-07-26 1,106 2,309 47.9%

Voter Turnout