Feb. 22, 2015 Held


Union of the Comoros

Election for Assemblée de l'Union (Comoran Assembly of the Union)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:195,870
Valid Votes:195,870
Invalid Votes:None

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Juwa Party (Sun) (Parti Juwa, PJ) 6 - 57,128


Union for the Development of the Comoros (UPDC) (UPDC) 6 - 65,290


Independents (Independents) 3 - 24,484


Convention for the Renewal of the Comoros (CRC) (Convention pour le Renouveau des Comores, CRC) 2 - 16,322


Democratic Rally of the Comoros (RDC) (Rassemblement Démocratique des Comores, RDC) 2 - 16,322


Party for the Harmony of the Comoros (PEC) (Parti de l'Entente des Comoriens (PEC)) 1 - 8,161


Rally for an Alternative of Harmonious and Integrated Development (RADHI) (Rassemblement pour une Alternative de Développement Harmonieux et Intégré, RADHI) 1 - 8,161

Election Results Modified: Mar 11, 2016

General Information

*Vote shares and percentages are approximate, based on final seat allocation and the total number of valid votes*

At stake in this election:       

  • The 18 (of 33) seats in Comoros’ Assembly of the Union (Assemblée de l'Union)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Ikililou DHOININE (since 26 May 2011) *
  • Head of Government: President Ikililou DHOININE (since 26 May 2011)
  • Assembly: Comoros has a unicameral Assembly of the Union (Assemblée de l'Union) with 33 seats.

*The president is both chief of state and head of government.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Assembly of the Union (Assemblée de l'Union), 15 members are elected by regional legislatures to serve 5-year terms and 18 members are elected by absolute majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.*

* The electoral system for directly elected seats is two-round (TRS). There are no nationally mandated electoral rules for the seats filled by local assemblies.

Election Note:

  • On Sunday 25 January 2015, Comoros held an election for the Assembly of the Union (Assemblée de l'Union).[i] On Sunday, February 22 a second round will be held in constituencies where there was no winner in the first round.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Camp of the Autonomous Islands (CdIA)
    • Leader: N/A
  • Party: Convention for the Renewal of the Comoros (CRC)
    • Leader: AZALI Assowmani
  • Party: Front National pour la Justice (FNJ)
    • Leader: Ahmed RACHID
  • Party: Mouvement pour law Democratie et le Progress (MDP-NGDC)
    • Leader: Abbas DJOUSSOUF
  • Party: Parti Comorien pour la Democratie et le Progress (PCDP)
    • Leader: Ali MROUDJAE
  • Party: Rassemblement National pour le Development (RND)
    • Leader: Omar TAMOU, Abdoulhamid AFFRAITANE

Last election:

  • The last election for the Assembly of the Union (Assemblée de l'Union) in Comoros was held on 7 November 2010 and 26 December 2010.[ii] There were 363,967 registered voters for the election.[iii] The Pro-Union Coalition won 19 seats (of 33; including appointed seats), while the Autonomous Coalition won 4 seats, and an Independent won one seat.[iv] Results can be found here.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 766,865 (July 2014 est)[v]
  • Registered Voters: 363,967(2011)[vi]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 395,176 (July 2014 est)[vii]
  • Is Comoros a signatory to CEDAW: No.[viii]
  • Has Comoros ratified CEDAW: Yes (31 October 1994).[ix]
  • Gender Quota:  No.[x]
  • Female Candidates in this election: N/A
  • Number of Female Legislators: 1 (3%) of 33 seats in Comoros’ Assembly of the Union (Assemblée de l'Union).[xi]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 159.[xii]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Not Categorized (latest categorizations are from 2014)[xiii]

Disability Data:

  • Is Comoros a signatory to CRPD: Yes (26 September 2007).[xiv]
  • Has Comoros ratified CRPD: No.[xv]

[i] http://www.africaintelligence.com/ION/politics-power/2014/11/28/president-dhoinine-left-in-the-dark,108050254-ART

[ii] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/cn.html

[iii] http://www.idea.int/vt/countryview.cfm?CountryCode=KM

[iv] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/cn.html

[v] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/cn.html

[vi] http://www.idea.int/vt/countryview.cfm?CountryCode=KM

[vii] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/cn.html

[viii] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[ix] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[x] http://www.ipu.org/wmn-e/classif.htm

[xi] http://www.ipu.org/wmn-e/classif.htm

[xii] http://www.undp.org/content/undp/en/home/librarypage/hdr/2014-human-development-report/

[xiii] http://genderindex.org/ranking

[xiv] http://www.un.org/disabilities/countries.asp?navid=17&pid=166

[xv] http://www.un.org/disabilities/countries.asp?navid=17&pid=166

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Comoros

With Participation Rates