May 9, 2016 Held


Republic of the Philippines

Election for President (Philippine President)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:43,531,338
Valid Votes:43,531,338
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Candidate:

Rodrigo DUTERTE15,970,018


Manuel ROXAS9,700,382


Grace Natividad POE-llamanzares8,935,733


Jejomar BINAY5,318,249


Miriam DEFENSOR-SANTIAGO 1,424,520


Roy SEÑERES25,161

Election Results Modified: May 18, 2016

General Information

Philippines: Presidential Election, 9 May 2016

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of Philippines

Note on the results: Results above are based on 96.14% of election returns. 

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Benigno AQUINO (since 30 June 2010)
  • Head of Government: President Benigno AQUINO (since 30 June 2010)
  • Assembly: Philippines has a bicameral Kongreso (Congress) consisting of the Senado (Senate) with 24 seats and the Kapulungan Ng Mga Kinatawan (House of Representatives) with 289 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President of Philippines is directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a single 6-year term.

Last Election:

  • Philippines las held a presidential election on 10 May 2010. Benigno AQUINO of the Liberal Party of the Philippines was elected president with 42.08% of the vote.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Mar ROXAS
    • Party: Liberal Party of the Philippines/Partido Liberal ng Pilipinas
  • Jejomar BINAY
    • Party: United Nationalist Alliance (UNA)[1]
  • Grace POE
    • Party: Independent
    • Party: People’s Reform Party/Partido ng Repormang Pantao
  • Rodrigo DUTERTE
    • Party: PDP-Laban/Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan
  • Roy SEÑERES[2]
    • Party: Workers and Peasants Party/Partido ng Manggagawa at Magsasaka

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 100,998,376 (July 2015 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 52,014,648 (2013)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 50,288,699 (July 2015 est.)

·         Is Philippines a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (15 July 1980)

·         Has Philippines ratified CEDAW: Yes (5 August 1981)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 85 (27.16%)[3]

·         Human Development Index Position: 115 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data: 

·         Is Philippines a signatory to CRPD: Yes (25 September 2007)

·         Has Philippines ratified CRPD: Yes (15 April 2008)

·         Population with a disability: 15,149,756


[1] The UNA is a coalition composed of factions of several political parties.

[2] Roy SEÑERES was running, but he withdrew from the race and passed away shortly after. He nevertheless still receive votes in the election.

[3] There are 79 women serving in the House of Representatives (27.34%) and 6 in the Senate (25%). 

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Philippines

With Participation Rates