July 1, 2018 Held


United Mexican States

Election for Camara de Senadores (Mexican Senate)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:56,237,841
Valid Votes:53,918,352
Invalid Votes:2,319,489

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Together We Make History (Juntos Haremos Historia) 53

Mexico to the Front (Por México al Frente) 25

National Regeneration Movement (Movimiento Regeneración Nacional) 15 - 21,261,577


All for Mexico (Todos por México) 13

National Action Party 7 - 9,971,804


Institutional Revolutionary Party 6 - 9,013,658


Citizens' Movement (Movimiento Ciudadano) 4 - 2,654,452


Party of the Democratic Revolution 2 - 2,984,861


Green Ecological Party of Mexico (Partido Verde Ecologista de México) 2 - 2,528,175


Labor Party (Partido del Trabajo) 1 - 2,164,442


Social Encounter Party (Encuentro Social) - - 1,320,559


New Alliance Party (Partido Nueva Alianza) - - 1,307,015

Election Results Modified: Aug 02, 2018

General Information

Mexico: Senate, 1 July 2018

At stake in this election:

  • 128 seats in the Senate (Congreso de la Union)

Note on the results: Seats are distributed by party and coalition; votes represent party votes only.

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Enrique Peña NIETO 
  • Head of Government: President Enrique Peña NIETO
  • Assembly: Mexico has a bicameral National Congress (Congreso de la Union) consisting of the Senate (Camara de Senadores) with 128 seats and the Chamber of Deputies (Camara de Diputados) with 500 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 6-year term.
  • In the Senate (Camara de Senadores), 96 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 6-year terms and 32 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 6-year terms.*​
  • In the Chamber of Deputies (Camara de Diputados), 300 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 3-year terms and 200 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 3-year terms.**​

*The voter votes at the state level. 96 Senators are elected from closed party lists in 32 districts of three seats, each corresponding to a state. The top vote-getting list wins two seats. The next-placed list wins one. Parties may nominate two candidates in any given district. 32 more Senators are elected from closed, nation-wide party lists. National vote shares are determined by summing state-level results. The threshold in this tier is two percent.

**The voter casts one vote at the single-member district level. PR seats are allocated from closed lists in five multi-member districts of 40 seats each in order to make each party's seat share proportional to its vote share at the MMD level. No party may seat more than 300 deputies. No party's seat share may be more than eight percent in excess of its vote share. This rule does not hold, however, if the disproportion results in the single-member district tier. A party may not contest seats in the proportional tier unless it registers candidates in at least 200 single-member constituencies. The threshold in the proportional tier is two percent.

Main Parties in the Electoral Race:*

* Three coalitions comprised of parties from this list ran as well. In some cases, seats and votes went directly to the parties, in others they went to the coalitions. The three coalitions were Together We Make History (Juntos Haremos Historia), All for Mexico (Todos por México), and Mexico to the Front (México al Frente). Together we make History is made up of the Movement of National Regeneration, the Workers' Party, and the Citizens' Movement Party. All for Mexico is made up of the Institutional Revolutionary Party, the Ecologist Green Party, and the New Alliance. Mexico to the Front is made up of the Party of the Democratic Revolution, Citizens' Movement, and the National Action Party. 

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 124,574,795 (July 2017 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 89,250,881 (July 2018)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 61,356,422 (2012)

·         Is Mexico a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Mexico ratified CEDAW: Yes (23 March 1981)

·         Gender Quota: Yes 

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 141 (Chamber of Deputies); 22 (Senate) (following the 2009 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 74

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Mexico a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Mexico ratified CRPD: Yes (17 December 2007)

·         Population with a disability: 18,310,644 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Mexico

With Participation Rates