Nov. 1, 2015 Held


Republic of Azerbaijan

Election for Milli Məclis (Azerbaijani National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,894,515
Valid Votes:2,894,515
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

New Azerbaijan Party 71

Independent 43

Civic Solidarity Party 2

Democratic Enlightenment Party (Azərbaycan Demokratik Maarifçilik Partiyası) 1

Party of National Statehood (Party of National Statehood) 1

Democratic Reform Party 1

Whole Azerbaijan Popular Front 1

Civil Unity Party 1

Movement of National Revival Party (Milli Dirçəliş Hərəkatı Partiyası) 1

Motherland Party 1

Azerbaijan Social Democrat Party (Azərbaycan Sosial Demokrat Partiyası) 1

Election Results Modified: Mar 14, 2016

General Information

At stake in this election:       

  • The 125 seats in the National Assembly (Milli Məclis)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Ilham ALIYEV*
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Artur RASIZADE
  • Assembly: Azerbaijan has a unicameral National Assembly (Milli Məclis) with 125 seats.

*President is eligible for unlimited terms.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Milli Məclis) 125 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Independents
    • Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in last election: 41
  • Party: New Azerbaijan Party
    • Leader: Ilham ALIYEV
    • Seats won in last election: 71
  • Party: Civic Solidarity Party
    • Leader: Sabir RUSTAMKHANLI
    • Seats won in last election: 3
  • Party: Motherland Party
    • Leader: Fezail AGAMALI
    • Seats won in last election: 2

Last election:

  • The last election for the National Assembly (Milli Məclis) was held on 7 November 2010. There were 4,946,588 registered voters for the election.  The New Azerbaijan Party won 71 seats (of 125) or 45.85% of the vote, Independents won 41 seats (48.15% of the vote), the Civic Solidarity Party won 3 seats (1.58% of the vote), the Motherland Party won 2 seats (1.37% of the vote), the United People’s Party won 1 seat (1.29% of the vote), the Democratic Reform Party won 1 seat, the Great Creation Party won 1 seat, the Social Welfare Party won 1 seat, the Justice Party won 1 seat, the Civil Unity Party won 1 seat, and the Hope Party won 1 seat.  Results can be found here.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 9,780,780 (July 2015 est.)[1]
  • Registered voters: 5,093,289 (2015)[2]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 2,893,382 (July 2015 est.)[3]
  • Is Azerbaijan a signatory to CEDAW: N/A[4]
  • Has Azerbaijan ratified CEDAW: Yes (10 July 1995)[5]
  • Gender Quota: No[6]
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 20 (16%) of 125 seats in the National Assembly (Milli Məclis)
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 76[7]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High[8]

Disability Data:

  • Is Azerbaijan a signatory to CRPD: Yes (9 January 2008)[9]
  • Has Azerbaijan ratified CRPD: Yes (28 January 2009)[10]
  • Population with a disability: 1,452,932 (2015)[11]




[1] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/aj.html

[2] http://www.msk.gov.az/en/newsmsk/760/

[3] https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/aj.html

[4] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[5] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=IV-8&chapter=4&lang=en

[6] http://www.quotaproject.org/uid/search.cfm#

[7] http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/table-1-human-development-index-and-its-components

[8] http://genderindex.org/country/azerbaijan

[9] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=iv-15&chapter=4&lang=en

[10] https://treaties.un.org/Pages/ViewDetails.aspx?src=TREATY&mtdsg_no=iv-15&chapter=4&lang=en

[11] http://www.electionaccess.org/en/resources/countries/az/all/


Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Azerbaijan

With Participation Rates