Dec. 28, 2008 Held


Republic of Ghana

Election for Ghanaian Presidency


Cast Votes:9,094,364
Valid Votes:9,001,478
Invalid Votes:92,886


John Evans ATTA MILLS4,521,032


Nana Addo Dankwa AKUFO-ADDO4,480,446


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Ghana

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President John Agyekum KUFUOR *
  • Head of Government: President John Agyekum KUFUOR
  • Assembly: Ghana has a unicameral Parliament with 230 seats.

* The president is both the chief of state and head of government. The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 4-year term renewable once. The electoral system is two-round.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Parliament 230 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.

Main Candidates in the Second Round of the Presidential race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 23,115,919 (2008)
  • Registered Voters: 12,472,758 (December 2008 )

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 11,650,629 (2008)

·         Is Ghana a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Ghana ratified CEDAW: Yes (2 January 1985)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 18 (following the 2008 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 140 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Ghana a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Ghana ratified CRPD: Yes (31 July 2012)

·         Population with a disability: 3,467,387 (est.)