May 14, 2006 Held


Union of the Comoros

Election for Comoran Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:177,601
Valid Votes:170,812
Invalid Votes:6,789

Vote Share by Candidate:

Ahmed Abdallah Mohamed Sambi99,112




Mohamed Djaanffari23,322

Election Results Modified: May 13, 2006

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Comoros

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President AZALI Assoumani *
  • Head of Government: President AZALI Assoumani
  • Assembly: Comoros has a unicameral Assembly of the Union with 33 seats.

* Under the 2001 power-sharing constitution, the presidency of the Union of the Comoros rotates every four years among the three islands of Grand Comore, Anjouan, and Moheli. A first round of elections is held on the island currently holding the presidency and the three top candidates move on to a second round in which the whole Union votes. 

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 633,814 (2006)
  • Registered Voters: 310,177 (2006)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 314,520 (2006)

·         Is Comoros a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Comoros ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (31 October 1994)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: N/A

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 1 (following 2004 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 159 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Comoros a signatory to CRPD: Yes (26 September 2007)

·         Has Comoros ratified CRPD: Yes (16 June 2016)

·         Population with a disability: 95,072 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Comoros

With Participation Rates