Feb. 3, 2013 Held


Principality of Liechtenstein

Election for Landtag (Liechtenstein Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:15,363
Valid Votes:14,684
Invalid Votes:679

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Progressive Citizens' Party 10 - 77,653


Patriotic Union (Vaterländische Union) 8 - 65,119


The Independents (Die Unabhängigen) 4 - 29,740


Free List 3 - 21,603

Election Results Modified: Jan 14, 2013

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The 25 seats of the Parliament (Landtag)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Prince HANS ADAM II *
  • Head of Government: Head of Government Klaus TSCHÜTSCHER **
  • Assembly: Liechtenstein has a unicameral Parliament (Landtag) with 25 seats.

* On August 15, 2004, Prince HANS ADAM II transferred the official duties to the Prince-Regent ALOIS, but Prince HANS ADAM II retains his title of Head of State.

** The leader of the majority party is usually chosen as Head of Government.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Prince is hereditary head of state.
  • Head of Government is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the Parliament (Landtag) 25 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Parties must meet an 8 percent quotient to gain a seat in the Diet.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 36,713 (July 2012 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 19,251 (February 2013 )
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Liechtenstein

With Participation Rates