Feb. 8, 2009 Held


Principality of Liechtenstein

Election for Landtag (Liechtenstein Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:15,650
Valid Votes:15,126
Invalid Votes:524

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Patriotic Union 13 - 95,219


Progressive Citizens' Party 11 - 86,951


Free List 1 - 17,835

Election Results Modified: May 10, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 25 seats in the Diet (Landtag)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Prince HANS ADAM II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Otmar HASLER
  • Assembly: Liechtenstein has a unicameral Diet (Landtag) with 25 seats.

* On August 15, 2004, Prince HANS ADAM II transferred the official duties to the Hereditary Prince ALOIS, but Prince HANS ADAM II retains his title of Head of State.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Prince is hereditary N/A.
  • In the Diet (Landtag) 25 members are elected by party-list system with proportional distribution of seats to serve 4-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

* The Patriotic Union was formerly known as the Fatherland Union.

Last Parliamentary election:

  • The last election was held on March 10 and 13, 2005, in which the Progressive Citizens' Party won the largest bloc of seats in the Diet.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 34,761 (July 2009 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 18,493 (February 2009 )
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Liechtenstein

With Participation Rates