South Africa

Republic of South Africa

58,065,097 6

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

26,779,025 76.57%

Registered Voters (as of May 13, 2019)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
South African National Council of Provinces Upper House
South African National Assembly Lower House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Jacob ZUMA
  • Head of Government: President Jacob ZUMA
  • Assembly: South Africa has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the National Council of Provinces with 90 seats and the National Assembly with 400 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Council of Provinces, 90 members are nominated by regional legislatures to serve 5-year terms.[1] In the National Assembly, 400 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.[2]

[1] The National Council of Provinces is comprised of 10 delegates from each of South Africa's 9 provinces. Each provincial delegation sends 6 permanent delegates, who serve until a new provincial legislature is formed, and 4 special delegates. The 4 special delegates include the provincial Premier, and 3 other members designated ad hoc. The party representation in the delegation must proportionally reflect the party representation in the provincial legislature.

[2] The PR tier is broken into a national list and regional lists, both of which elect 200 members of the National Assembly. In the regional tier there are 9 multi-member districts, each corresponding to a province, with seats allocated in proportion to population. In both tiers, the electoral system is closed list proportional representation.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
South African National Assembly 1999-06-02 16,228,462 18,172,751 89.3%
South African National Assembly 2004-04-14 15,863,554 20,674,926 76.73%
President 2004-04-24 - 20,674,926 -
South African National Assembly 2009-04-22 17,919,996 23,181,997 77.3%
South African National Assembly 2014-05-07 18,654,457 25,362,023 73.55%
South African National Assembly 2019-05-08 17,671,616 26,779,025 65.99%

Voter Turnout