Islamic Republic of Pakistan

204,596,442 6

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

105,955,409 52.58%

Registered Voters (as of Aug. 15, 2018)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Pakistani National Assembly Qaumī Asimbli'e Pākistān Lower House
Pakistani Senate Aiwān-i bālā Pākistān Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mamnoon HUSSAIN 
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Nawaz SHARIF
  • Assembly: Pakistan has a bicameral Parliament (Majlis-e-Shoora) consisting of the Senate with 104 seats and the National Assembly with 342 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is indirectly elected by an electoral college of members of the Senate, National Assembly and the Provincial Assemblies to serve a 5-year term. Candidates must be older than 45 and Muslim.
  • Prime Minister is elected by parliament.
  • In the Senate 104 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 6-year terms. Half of membership is renewed every three years. In the National Assembly, 272 members are elected by majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms. 70 seats, 60 reserved for women and 10 for non-Muslims, are directly elected by proportional representation vote.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Referendum 2002-04-30 43,907,950 - -
Pakistani National Assembly 2002-10-10 29,572,712 70,755,379 41.8%
Pakistani National Assembly 2008-02-18 35,678,035 80,910,318 44.1%
Pakistani National Assembly 2013-05-11 45,388,404 84,207,524 53.9%
President 2013-07-30 515 706 72.95%
Pakistani National Assembly 2018-07-25 53,123,733 105,955,409 50.14%

Voter Turnout