Republic of Guinea

11,474,383 7

Population (as of May 20, 2015)

Elections in our database

6,042,634 72.24%

Registered Voters (as of Oct. 26, 2015)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
President President Head of State
National Assembly Assemblée Nationale Assembly
Prime Minister Prime Minister Head of Government

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Alpha CONDE
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Mohamed Said FOFANA
  • Assembly: Guinea has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 114 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 38 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 76 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.***

*** In the proportional tier, there is one nationwide district. The National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) was dissolved in December 2008 following a military coup. Since February 2010, the role of the legislature has been filled by the appointed 155-member National Transition Council.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
President 1998-12-14 2,656,113 3,719,197 71.42%
Referendum 2001-11-11 3,758,390 4,310,081 87.2%
President 2003-12-21 4,146,027 5,009,780 82.76%
President 2010-06-27 2,675,320 4,200,000 63.7%
President 2010-11-07 2,898,233 4,270,531 67.87%
National Assembly 2013-09-28 3,355,442 5,212,539 64.37%
President 2015-10-11 4,131,046 6,042,634 68.36%

Voter Turnout