34,879 5

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database

23,278 75.28%

Registered Voters (as of None)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Gibraltarian Parliament Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II[i]
  • Head of Government: Chief Minister Fabian PICARDO
  • Assembly: Gibraltar has a unicameral Parliament with 18 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary head of state.
  • Chief Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Parliament, 17 members are elected by block vote to serve 4-year terms and 1 members are designated ex officio to serve 4-year terms.[ii]

[i] The Queen is represented by Governor Lt. Gen. Edward DAVIS

[ii] Voters have up to 10 votes to vote for their choice from all candidates standing in the election. The Speaker serves ex-officio.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Referendum 2002-11-07 18,176 20,675 87.91%
Gibraltarian Parliament 2003-11-27 - - -
Gibraltarian Parliament 2007-10-11 - - -
Gibraltarian Parliament 2011-12-08 17,915 26,673 67.17%
Gibraltarian Parliament 2015-11-26 16,475 23,278 70.77%

Voter Turnout