May 24, 2010 Held

Trinidad and Tobago

Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Election for Trinidad and Tobago House of Representatives


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:726,801
Valid Votes:724,110
Invalid Votes:2,691

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

People's Partnership 29 - 432,026


People's National Movement 12 - 285,354


Others - - 2,437

Election Results Modified: Apr 22, 2016

General Information


  • United National Congress (UNC): 22 seats
  • Congress of the People (COP): 5 seats
  • Tobago Organization of the People (TOP): 2 seats
  • People's National Movement (PNM): 12 seats

At stake in this election:

  • 41 seats in the House of Representatives

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President George Maxwell RICHARDS *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Patrick MANNING **
  • Assembly: Trinidad and Tobago has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 31 seats and the House of Representatives with 41 seats.

* The President is elected by indirect vote by an electoral college consisting of ten senators, the Speaker, and twelve members of the House of Representatives.

** The president usually appoints the leader of the majority party in the House of Representatives.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by indirect vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Senate 31 members are appointed to serve 5-year terms*. In the House of Representatives 36 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.

* In the Senate, 16 members are appointed by the ruling party, 9 members are appointed by the president, and 6 members are appointed by the opposition party. All members serve 5-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: People's National Movement (PNM)
    • Leader: Patrick MANNING
    • Seats won in last House of Representatives election: 26
  • Alliance: People's Partnership**
    • Leader: Kamla PERSAD-BISSESSAR
    • Seats won in last House of Representatives election: 15
  • Party: New National Vision (NNV)
    • Leader: Fuad ABU BAKR
    • Seats won in last House of Representatives election: 0

** The People's Partnership is led by the United National Congress, and consists of the Congress of the People, the Tobago Organization of the People, the National Joint Action Committee and the Movement for Social Justice.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 1,328,095 (2010)
  • Registered Voters: 1,040,127 (2010)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 670,816 (2010)

·         Is Trinidad and Tobago a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (27 June 1985)

·         Has Trinidad and Tobago ratified CEDAW: Yes (12 January 1990)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 12 (House of Representatives) following the 2010 elections

·         Human Development Index Position: 64 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Trinidad and Tobago a signatory to CRPD: Yes (27 September 2007)

·         Has Trinidad and Tobago ratified CRPD: Yes (25 June 2015)

·         Population with a disability: 199,214 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Trinidad and Tobago

With Participation Rates