Sept. 27, 2009 Held


Federal Republic of Germany

Election for Bundestag (German Federal Diet)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:44,005,575
Valid Votes:43,248,000
Invalid Votes:757,575

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Christian Democratic Union / Christian Social Union (CDU/CSU) 226 - 16,631,049


Social Democratic Party 222 - - 16,194,665


Free Democratic Party (FDP) (Freie Demokratische Partei) 61 - - 4,648,144


Left Party 54 - - 4,118,194


Alliance '90/Greens 51 - - 3,838,326


Others - - 1,857,610

Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 598 seats in the Federal Diet (Bundestag)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Horst KOEHLER *
  • Head of Government: Chancellor Angela MERKEL
  • Assembly: Germany has a bicameral Parliament (Parlament) consisting of the Federal Council (Bundesrat) with 69 seats and the Federal Diet (Bundestag) with 598 seats.

* The President is elected by a Federal Convention to serve a 5-year term. The Federal Convention includes all members of the Federal Assembly and an equal number of delegates elected by the state parliaments. A candidate must secure a majority of votes in the Federal Convention to be elected. If this does not happen in two rounds of voting, a third round is held where only a plurality is needed to win.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by indirect vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Federal Council (Bundesrat) 69 members are ex officio by regional legislatures*. In the Federal Diet (Bundestag), 299 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 299 members are allocated by popular vote through a mixed-member proportional system to serve 4-year terms.**

* There are 16 multi-member districts (magnitude ranging from 3 to 6), each of which corresponds to one of the Lander (states). Each state elects a regional assembly, which elects a regional government, a delegation of which represents the Land in the Federal Council. Members' terms depend on that of the Land they represent.

** Each voter has two votes. In each single-member district, the first vote counts toward the election of a plurality winner. Each Land also represents a multi-member district. The second vote determines outcomes in the MMDs. Within each Land, a party is entitled to a share of seats proportional to its share of second votes. Seats at the MMD/compensatory level are allocated to parties from closed lists to make each party's overall seat share (compensatory seats + SMD seats) proportional to its Land-wide vote share. To qualify for compensatory seats, a party must win either 5 percent of second votes nation-wide or at least 3 SMD seats. Because it is possible for a party to win more SMD seats than its share of second votes otherwise would allow ("overhang mandates"), the size of the compensatory tier can change, and with it the size of the Bundesrat.

Main parties in the electoral race:

* Edmund STOIBER is leader of the CSU
**** The Left Party is an alliance of the Party of Democratic Socialism (PDS), which won 2 seats in the last election, and the Electoral Alternative Work and Social Justice (WASG).

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 81,902,307 (2009)
  • Registered Voters: 62,168,489 (September 2009 )

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 41,782,248 (2009)

·         Is Germany a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Germany ratified CEDAW: Yes (10 July 1985)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 204 (German Bundestag) following the 2009 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 6 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Germany a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Germany ratified CRPD: Yes (24 February 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 12,285,346 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Germany

With Participation Rates