April 9, 2009 Held


Republic of Indonesia

Election for Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat (Indonesian House of Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:121,588,366
Valid Votes:104,099,785
Invalid Votes:17,488,581

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic Party (Partai Demokrat) 150 - 21,703,137


The Party of Functional Groups (Partai Golongan Karya) 107 - 15,037,757


Indonesian Democratic Party - Struggle (Partai Demokrasi Indonesia Perjuangan) 95 - 14,600,091


Prosperous Justice Party 57 - 8,206,955


National Mandate Party 43 - 6,254,580


United Development Party 37 - 5,533,214


National Awakening Party 27 - 5,146,122


Great Indonesia Movement Party (Partai Gerakan Indonesia Raya, Gerindra) 26 - 4,646,406


People's Conscience Party (Partai Hati Nurani Rakyat, Partai Hanura)) 18 - 3,922,870


Others - - -

Election Results Modified: Mar 19, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 128 seats in the Regional Representative Council (Dewan Perwakilan Daerah)
  • 560 seats in the House of Representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Susilo Bambang YUDHOYONO *
  • Head of Government: President Susilo Bambang YUDHOYONO
  • Assembly: Indonesia has a bicameral People's Consultative Assembly consisting of the Regional Representative Council (Dewan Perwakilan Daerah) with 128 seats and the House of Representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat) with 560 seats.

* A candidate pair must be nominated by a party or coalition with at least 20 percent of seats in the DPR or that won at least 25 percent of votes in the last DPR election.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the Regional Representative Council (Dewan Perwakilan Daerah) 128 members are elected by single non-transferable vote to serve 5-year terms*. In the House of Representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat) 560 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.**

* There are 4 seats allocated to each province, which is treated as a multi-member district. The DPD is advisory only.

** Parties must clear a threshold of 2.5 percent nationwide. Each party list must include at least 30 percent female candidates. Under a 2008 constitutional court ruling, voters may select a party, or they may select an individual. The ordering of party lists is fully determined by candidate preference votes.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Last Legislative election:

  • Indonesia's last legislative election was held on April 5, 2004.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 238,465,165 (2009)
  • Registered Voters: 171,265,442 (2009)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 111,270,082 (2004)

·         Is Indonesia a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (28 July 1980)

·         Has Indonesia ratified CEDAW: Yes (13 September 1984)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 62 (following the 2004 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 110 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Indonesia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Indonesia ratified CRPD: Yes (30 November 2011)

·         Population with a disability: 33,490,290 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Indonesia

With Participation Rates