April 10, 2024 Held

South Korea

Republic of Korea

Election for Kukhoe (South Korean National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:29,654,450
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic Party (Democratic Party) 175

People's Power Party (국민의힘) 108

Rebuilding Korea Party (조국혁신당) 12

New Reform Party (개혁신당) 3

Progressive Party (진보당) 1

New Future (새로운미래) 1

Results Notes

Results Source: National Election Commission

Election Results Modified: May 07, 2024

General Information

At Stake in this Election:

  • All 300 seats in the National Assembly of the Republic of Korea

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State and Head of Government: President YOON Suk Yeol (since 10 May 2022)
  • Assembly: unicameral National Assembly (Gukhoe / 大韓民國國會)

Electoral System:

  • The President is directly elected by a simple majority popular vote for a single 5-year term.
  • 253 members of the National Assembly are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote. The remaining 47 members are elected in a single national constituency. All members serve 4-year terms.

Last Election:

The last parliamentary elections were held on April 15, 2020. The Democratic Party won 180 seats, the United Future Party won 103, and the Justice Party won 1 seat. Voter turnout was 66%.

Information for Voters:

“Voting” from the National Election Commission of the Republic of Korea (available in English)

Main Parties in this Election:

  • Democratic Party of Korea** / 더불어민주당[ (DPK)
    • Leader: Lee Jae-myung
    • Seats won in the last election: 156 seats out of 300
    • In 2022, the parties Open Democratic Party / 열린민주당 and New Wave / 새로운물결 joined the DPK
  • People Power Party /국민의힘 (PPP)
    • Leader: Han Dong-hoon
    • Seats won in the last election: 114 seats out of 300
  • Green-Justice Party / 정의당 (JP)
    • Leader: Kim Jun-woo
    • Seats won in the last election: 6 seats out of 300
  • New Future Party / 새로운미래
    • Leader: Lee JNak-yon
    • Seats won in the last election: 5 seats out of 300


Gender Data:

Disability Data:

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 11 December 2008
  • Projected population with a disability: 8,260,498

IFES Resources:

  • Does IFES have a presence in South Korea: No
  • Election Access: Yes
  • Election Judgements:  Yes
Election Modified: Apr 12, 2024

Most Recent Elections in South Korea

With Participation Rates