Nov. 20, 2023 Held

Marshall Islands

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Election for Nitijela (Marshallese Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:33,328
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Non-Partisans 33

Election Results Modified: Jan 08, 2024

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • All 33 seats of the Marshallese Parliament 

A referendum will be held concurrently. 

Government Structure:  

  • Chief of State: President David KABUA (since 13 January 2020) 

  • Head of Government: President David KABUA (since 13 January 2020) 

  • Assembly: unicameral Parliament (Nitijela) with 33 seats 

Electoral System:  

  • The President is indirectly elected by fellow members of Parliament and may serve an unlimited number of 4-year terms. 

  • In Parliament, all 33 members are directly elected by plurality vote and serve 4-year terms. 

Last Election: 

In 2019, independents won all 33 seats in the Marshallese Parliament. 

Key Deadlines: 

  • Overseas voters must register to vote by mail by 6 November 2023. 

Main Candidates in this Election: 

All candidates run as independents in the Marshall Islands, as there are not official political parties in the country. Voter turnout was 38%. 

Population and Registered Voters: 

Gender Data: 

  • Gender Quota: No 

  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes 

  • Number of Female Legislators (pre-election): 2 out of 33 (6.1%) in Parliament 

  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 0.639, Medium, Rank 131 (2021)  

  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Not available  

Disability Data: 

  • CRPD Status: Ratified (by accession) 17 March 2015 

  • Projected population with a disability: 6,651 (2022 est.)  

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in the Marshall Islands: Yes, programming 

  • Election Access: Yes 

Election Modified: Dec 18, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Marshall Islands

With Participation Rates