May 14, 2023 Held


Republic of Türkiye

Election for Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (Turkish Grand National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:53,994,049
Valid Votes:52,628,182
Invalid Votes:1,365,867

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Justice and Development Party (AKP) (Adalet ve Kalkınma Partisi) 268 - 19,392,462


Republican People's Party 169 - 13,802,183


Party of the Greens and the Left Future (Yeşiller ve Sol Gelecek Partisi) 61 - 4,803,922


Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) (Milliyetçi Hareket Partisi) 50 - 5,484,820


Good Party (iYi Parti) 43 - - 5,272,981


New Welfare Party (Yeniden Refa Partisi) 5 - 1,572,048


Turkey Workers' Party (Türkiye Işçi Partısı) 4 - 956,057

Election Results Modified: Sep 04, 2023

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • All 600 seats of the Turkish Grand National Assembly 

Government Structure:  

  • Chief of State: President Recep Tayyip ERDOĞAN (since 28 August 2014) 

  • Head of Government: President Recep Tayyip ERDOĞAN (since 9 July 2019) 

  • The President became head of government when the prime minister position was eliminated in 2018 after a constitutional referendum. 

  • Assembly: unicameral Grand National Assembly (Büyük Millet Meclisi) with 600 seats 

Electoral System:  

  • The President is directly elected by absolute majority vote in up to two rounds. The President may serve up to two 5-year terms. 

  • All 600 members of the Grand National Assembly are directly elected via party-list proportional representation vote in multi-seat constituencies. Members serve 5-year terms. 

Last Election: 

In 2018, the Justice and Development Party (AKP) narrowly failed to win a majority in the Grand National Assembly with 295 seats. The remaining seats were split between four parties: the CHP (146 seats), the HDP (67), the MHP (49), and the Good Party (43). Voter turnout was 85%.  

New/Unique in this Election:  

In 2022, the Grand National Assembly passed Law No. 7393, lowering the minimum vote threshold needed for parties to gain an assembly seat from 10% to 7%. The law also changed the seat allocation procedure from a nested, two-round procedure for coalitions to a one-round procedure for coalitions, parties, and independents. Furthermore, the law introduced a lottery system for appointing judges to local electoral boards, whereas the judges were previously appointed based on seniority. 

Key Deadlines: 

  • Turkey uses a passive, residence-based voter registration process that occurs continuously. From 20 March to 2 April, voters were allowed to review voter rolls and request changes to their registration status. 

Main Parties in this Election: 

  • Justice and Development Party / Adalet ve Kalkınma Partisi (AKP

  • Leader: Recep Tayyip ERDOĞAN 

  • Seats won in last election: 295 out of 600 

  • Member of The People’s Alliance (Cumhur İttifakı) coalition 

  • Republican People’s Party / Cumhuriyet Halk Partisi (CHP

  • Leader: Kemal KILIÇDAROĞLU 

  • Seats won in last election: 146 out of 600 

  • Member of the National Alliance (Millet İttifakı) coalition 

  • People’s Democratic Party / Halkın Kurtuluş Partisi (HDP

  • Leader: Nurullah ANKUT 

  • Seats won in last election: 67 out of 600 

  • Member of the Labor and Freedom Alliance (Emek ve Özgürlük İttifakı) coalition 

  • Nationalist Movement Party / Milliyetçi Hareket Partisi (MHP

  • Leader: Devlet BAHÇELI 

  • Seats won in last election: 49 out of 600 

  • Member of The People’s Alliance (Cumhur İttifakı) coalition 

  • Good Party / İyi Parti (İYİ

  • Leader: Meral AKŞENER 

  • Seats won in last election: 43 out of 600 

  • Member of the National Alliance (Millet İttifakı) coalition 

Population and Registered Voters: 

Gender Data: 

Disability Data: 

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 28 September 2009 

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in Turkey: No  

  • Election Access: Yes 

  • Election Judgements: Yes; 5 judgments and 32 resources 

Election Modified: Sep 03, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Turkey

With Participation Rates