Nov. 19, 2022 Held



Election for Dewan Rakyat (Malaysian House of Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:15,517,227
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Alliance of Hope (Pakatan Harapan) 82 - 5,896,142


National Alliance (PN) 74 - 4,666,529


National Front (Barisan Nasional) 30 - 3,455,762

Election Results Modified: Aug 23, 2023

General Information

Malaysia will hold a snap general election on 19 November 2022. The 14th Parliament was due to expire on 16 July 2023, however, at the request of the incumbent Prime Minister the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah, dissolved the legislature on 10 October 2022. Constitutionally, the election would have to be held in 60 days, making 9 December 2022 the last possible polling day.


At stake in this election:

  • 222 seats in the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King Tuanku ABDUL HALIM Mu'adzam Shah
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Ismail Sabri YAAKOB (since 21 August 2021)
  • Assembly: Malaysia has a bicameral Parliament (Parlimen) consisting of the Senate (Dewan Negara) with 70 seats and the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) with 222 seats.


Description of electoral system:

  • The King is elected by hereditary state rulers.
  • Prime Minister is designated by parliament.
  • In the Senate (Dewan Negara), 44 members are appointed by the monarch to serve 3-year terms and 26 members are elected by the state legislatures to serve 3-year terms*. In the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) 222 members are elected by direct popular vote to serve 5-year terms.

* 44 seats appointed by paramount ruler, 26 elected by 13 state legislatures

Election Modified: Mar 10, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Malaysia

With Participation Rates