Oct. 2, 2022 Held

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Election for Predstavnicki Dom (Bosnia and Herzegovina House of Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,733,260
Valid Votes:1,587,999
Invalid Votes:145,261

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Party of Democratic Action (Party of Democratic Action) 9 - 273,545


Alliance of Independent Social Democrats 6 - 259,521


Social Democratic Party 5 - 129,499


Croatian Democratic Union 4 - 139,018


Democratic Front (Democratic Front) 3 - - 101,713


Serb Democratic Party (Serb Democratic Party) 2 - 112,250

Election Results Modified: Dec 11, 2022

General Information


At Stake in this Election:         

  • All 42 seats of the House of Representatives.


Government Structure:  

  • Chief of State: Chairman of the Presidency Sefik DZAFEROVIC, Presidency Member Zeljko KOMSIC, and Presidency Member Milorad DODIK** 

  • Head of Government: Chairman of the Council of Ministers Zoran TEGELTIJA  

  • Assembly: Bicameral Parliamentary Assembly (Skupstina) which consists of the House of Peoples (Dom Naroda), which has 15 seats and the House of Representatives (Predstavnicki Dom) which has 42 seats.  

**NOTE: Bosnia and Herzegovina has a tripartite presidency that has a rotating Chairman. 


Electoral System:  

  • The Presidency is comprised of three members (1 Bosniak and 1 Croat are elected from the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and 1 Serb is elected from the Republika Srpska). Members of the Presidency are directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 4-year term. The presidency chairmanship rotates every 8 months with the new member of the presidency elected with the highest number of votes.  

  • The Chairman of the Council of Ministers is appointed by the presidency and confirmed by the state-level House of Representatives.  

  • Members of the House of Peoples are designated by the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina’s House of Peoples and the Republika Srpska’s National Assembly to serve four-year terms. Members of the House of Representatives are directly elected by proportional representation to serve 4-year terms.  


Main Parties in this Election:   

  • Party of Democratic Action  

    • Leader: Bakir Izetbegovic 

  • Alliance of Independent Social Democrats 

    • Leader: Milorad Dodik 

  • Croatian Democratic Union 

    • Leader: Dragan Covic 

  • Social Democratic Party  

    • Leader: Nermin Niksic 

  • Serb Democratic Party 

    • Leader: Mirko Sarovic  

  • Democratic Front – Civic Alliance 

    • Leader: Zeljko Komsic 

  • People and Justice  

    • Leader: Elmedin Konakovic 

  • Party of Democratic Progress 

    • Leader: Branislav Borenovic 

  • Our Party  

    • Leader: Edin Forto 

  • People’s European Union* 

    • Leader: Nermin Ogresevic 

  • For Justice and Order* 

    • Leader: Not available 

  • Democratic Union* 

    • Leader: Nedeljko Cubrilovic 

  • Party for Bosnia and Herzegovina 

    • Leader: Semir Efendic 

  • HDZ 1990 – Croatian National Shift  

    • Leader: Ilija Cvitanovic 

  • Platform for Progress-Independent Bloc* 

    • Leader: Mirsad Hadzikadic 

  • Union for a Better Future of BiH 

    • Leader: Fahrudin Radoncic 

  • United Srpska*  

    • Leader: Nenad Stevandic 

  • Socialist Party  

    • Leader: Petar Dokic 

  • Democratic People’s Alliance 

    • Leader: Nenad Nesic  

  • Bosnian-Herzegovinian Initiative* 

    • Leader: Fuad Kasumovic 

  • Bosnian Party 

    • Leader: Mirnes Ajanovic 

  • Movement of Democratic Action 

    • Leader: Elzina Piric 

  • Social Democrats* 

    • Leader: Enver Bijedic 

  • Croatian Republican Party* 

    • Leader: Slaven Raguz 


*NOTE: Asterisks are used to denote new parties.  


Population and Registered Voters:  


Gender Data:  


Disability Data:  


IFES Resources:  

  • Does IFES have a presence in Bosnia and Herzegovina: No 

  • Election FAQs: Yes 

Election Modified: Mar 10, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Bosnia and Herzegovina

With Participation Rates