Nov. 7, 2021 Held


Republic of Nicaragua

Election for Asamblea Nacional (Nicaraguan National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,921,430
Valid Votes:2,759,743
Invalid Votes:161,687

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Sandinista National Liberation Front (Frente Sandinista de Liberación Nacional) 75

Liberal Constitutionalist Party (Partido Liberal Constitucionalista) 9

Nicaraguan Liberal Alliance (Alianza Liberal Nicaragüense) 2

Independent Liberal Party (Partido Liberal Independiente) 1

Alliance for the Republic (Alianza por la República) 1

Nicaraguan Party of the Christian Path (Partido Camino Cristiano Nicaragüense) 1

YATAMA (Yapti Tasba Masraka Nanih Aslatakanka) 1

Election Results Modified: Jun 01, 2022

General Information

At Stake in this Election:       

  • 92 seats in the National Assembly of the Republic of Nicaragua 

Government Structure: 

  • Chief of State: President Daniel ORTEGA (since 10 January 2007)
  • Head of Government: President Daniel ORTEGA (since 10 January 2007) 
  • Assembly: Nicaragua possesses a unicameral National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional) consisting of 92 deputies.

Electoral System: 

  • The National Assembly of Nicaragua is a unicameral institution comprised of 92 deputies, 90 of whom are elected using proportional representation featuring closed party lists and departmental/regional quotients. [1]  
  • 70 seats are contested in 17 multi-member constituencies ranging from 2-19 seats, while 20 seats are contested within a single nationwide constituency. [2] 
  • The remaining two seats are reserved for the presidential candidate finishing second, as well as the president leaving office (or their vice president if the incumbent wins another term). [3]

Last Election: 

  • The last legislative elections were held on 6 November 2016.

Main Parties in this Election:  

  • Party: Sandinista National Liberation Front (FSLN) / Frente Sandinista de Liberación Nacional 
    • Leader: Daniel ORTEGA 
    • Seats won in last election: 70 
  • Party: Constitutionalist Liberal Party (PLC) / Partido Liberal Constitucionalista  
    • Leader: María Haydeé OSUNA 
    • Seats won in last election: 13 
  • Party: Nicaragua Liberal Alliance (ALN) / Alianza Liberal Nicaragüense 
    • Leader: Saturnino CERRATO 
    • Seats won in last election: 2 
  • Party: Independent Liberal Party (PLI) / Partido Liberal Independiente  
    • Leader: José del Carmen Alvarado 
    • Seats won in last election: 2 
  • Party: Alliance for the Republic (APRE) / Alianza por la República 
    • Leader: Carlos Jóse CANALES
    • Seats won in last election: 1 
  • Party: Nicaraguan Party of the Christian Path (CCN) / Partido Camino Cristiano Nicaragüense  
    • Leader: Guillermo OSORNO 
    • Seats won in last election: 0 
  • Party: Sons of Mother Earth (YATAMA) / Yapti Tasba Masraka Nanih Aslatakanka  
    • Leader: Brooklyn RIVERA 
    • Seats won in last election: 1 

Population and Registered Voters: 

  • Population: 6,243,931 (July 2021 est.) [4] 
  • Registered Voters: 4,500,000 (2021 est.) [5] 

Gender Data: 

  • Female Population: 3,165,674 (2020 est.) [6]
  • Is Nicaragua a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980) [7] 
  • Has Nicaragua ratified CEDAW: Yes (27 October 1981) [8]
  • Gender Quota: Political parties or coalitions of political parties which compete in National Assembly elections must construct electoral lists which alternate between sexes on a 50/50 percent basis. [9]   
  • Female Candidates in this election: N/A 
  • Number of Female Legislators: 43 out of 92 seats [10]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: Rank 128 at 0.660 (2020) [11] 
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium (2014) [12]
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Nicaragua

With Participation Rates