Dec. 27, 2020 Held


Republic of Niger

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Nigerien National Assembly)

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The 171 members of the National Assembly (Assemblée nationale)


Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President OUSSEINI Tinni (since 20 March 2016)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Brigi RAFINI (since 7 April 2011)
  • Niger has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale) with 171 seats.


Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term. The President is limited to two 5-year terms.*
  • The 171 members of the National Assembly are elected by two methods; 158 members are elected from eight multi-member constituencies based on the seven regions and Niamey by party-list proportional representation. A further eight seats are reserved for national minorities and five seats for Nigeriens living abroad, all elected from single-member constituencies by first-past-the-post voting.

*If no candidate receives a majority of the vote in the first round, a second round will be held on 21 February 2021.


Main Parties in this Election:

  • Party: Nigerien Party for Democracy and Socialism-Tarayya
    • Leader:  Mahamadou ISSOUFOU
    • Seats won in last election: 75
  • Party: Nigerien Democratic Movement for an African Federation
    • Leader: Hama AMADOU
    • Seats won in last election: 25
  • Party: National Movement for a Developing Society-Nassara
    • Leader: Seyni OUMAROU
    • Seats won in last election: 20
  • Party: Patriotic Movement for the Republic
    • Leader: Albadé ABOUBA
    • Seats won in last election: 13
  • Party: Nigerien Movement for Democratic Renewal
    • Leader: -
    • Seats won in last election: 6
  • Party: Niger Patriotic Movement
    • Leader: Ibrahim YACOUBA
    • Seats won in last election: 5