July 5, 2020 Held


Republic of Croatia

Election for Hrvatski Sabor (Croatian Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,705,686
Valid Votes:1,666,973
Invalid Votes:38,713

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Croatian Democratic Union-led coaliiton (Hrvatska demokratska zajednica) 66 - 621,035


Restart Coalition (Restart koalicija) 41 - 414,645


Miroslav Škoro Homeland Movement-led coalition (Domovinski pokret Miroslava Škore) 16 - 181,493


Bridge of Independent Lists (MOST) (Most Nezavisnih Lista) 8 - 123,194


Green-Left coalition (Zeleno–lijeva koalicija) 7 - 116,483


Pametno-led coalition (Pametno) 3 - 66,399


Croatian People's Party – Liberal Democrats (Hrvatska narodna stranka – Liberalni demokrati) 1 - 21,727


People's Party–Reformists -led coalition (Reformisti–HSS Braće Radić–Pensioners) 1 - 16,900


Human Shield (Živi Zid) - - 37,628

Election Results Modified: Jul 22, 2020

General Information

Republic of Croatia: Parliament, 5 July 2020

At stake in this election:

  • 151 seats in the Hrvatski sabor (Assembly)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Zoran MILANOVIĆ (since 19 February 2020)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Andrej PLENKOVIĆ (since 19 October 2016)
  • Assembly: Croatia has a unicameral Hrvatski sabor (Assembly) composed of 151 seats with members serving 4-year terms.

Description of electoral system:

Multi-member district open-list proportional representation with single preferential vote with a 5 percent national threshold (not including representatives of the national minorities and representatives elected by Croatian nationals not having residence in the Republic of Croatia).

Last Election:

  • Elections for the Assembly were last held on 11 September 2016. The Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ Coalition) retained the majority it had held since 2015, winning 61 of 151 seats. The Restart Coalition won 54 seats, and the Bridge of Independent Lists party won 13.

Main parties in the election:

  • Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) Coalition /Hrvatska Demokratska Zajednica
    • Leader: Andrej PLENKOVIČ
    • Seats won in last election: 61
  • Social Democratic Party (SDP) Coalition / Socijaldemokratska partija Hrvatske
    • Leader: Davor BERNARDIĆ
    • Seats won in last election: 54
  • Bridge of Independent Lists (MOST-NL) /Most Nezavisnih Lista
    • Leader: Božo PETROV
    • Seats won in last election: 13
  • Enough of Robbery Coalition / Dosta pljačke
    • Leader: Ivan Sinčić
    • Seats won in last election: 8
  • Bandić Milan 365 - Labour and Solidarity Party (BM-365)/ Bandić Milan 365 - Stranka rada i solidarnosti
    • Leader: Milan Bandić
    • Seats won in last election: 5
  • Croatian Peasant Party (HSS)/Hrvatska seljačka stranka
    • Leader: Krešo BELJAK
    • Seats won in last election: 5 (as part of the Restart Coalition)
  • Istrian Democratic Assembly (IDS)/Istarski Demokratski Sabor
    • Leader: Boris MILETIĆ
    • Seats won in last election: 3
  • Croatian People’s Party – Liberal Democrats (HNS)/Hrvatska narodna stranka - Liberalni Demokrat
    • Leader: Predrag ŠTROMAR
    • Seats won in last election: 9 (as part of the Restart Coalition)
  • Croatian Democratic Congress of Slavonia and Baranja (HDSSB)/Hrvatski Demokratski Sabor Slavonije i Baranje
    • Leader: Branimir GLAVAŠ
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Croatian Social Liberal Party (HSLS)/Hrvatska socijalno-liberalna stranka
    • Leader: Dario HREBAK
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Miroslav Škoro Homeland Movement (DPMŠ)/Domovinski pokret Miroslava Škore
    • Leader: Miroslav Škoro
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Independents for Croatia (NHR)/ Neovisni za Hrvatsku
    • Leader: Bruna Esih
    • Seats won in last election: 1

*There are several major coalition parties of note in the 2020 Croatian Assembly election:

  • The HDZ Coalition currently includes the Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) party, the Croatian Demochristian Party (HDS) and the Croatian Social Liberty Party (HSLS). Its current leader is Andrej PLENKOVIČ of the HDZ party. 
  • The Restart Coalition's (formerly also known as The Croatia is Growing coalition or the Kukuriku Coalition) was formed in 2020. current leader is Davor BERNARDIĆ of the SDP party. Its members include the SDP party, the Croatian Peasant Party, the Civic Liberal Alliance, the Istrian Democratic Assembly, the Croatian Party of Pensioners, SNAGA, NS-R, PGS, Independent List of Damir Bajs, and MDS. 
  • The Enough of Robbery (Dosta pljačke) coalition[1] was formed in 2020. Its current leader is Ivan Vilibor SINČIĆ of the Human Shield (ZZ) / Živi zid party. Its members include the Human Shield party, the Let’s Change Croatia party, the Youth Action party, the Croatian Party of All Čakavians, Kajkavians and Štokavians, Stipe Petrina’s Independent List, HSS-SR and the Ivan Pernar Party.[2]

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 4,227,746 (July 2020 est.) [1]

·         Registered Voters: 3,719,741 (2019) [2]

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 2,188,488 (2020 est.) [3]

·         Is Croatia a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Croatia ratified CEDAW: Yes, succession (9 September 1992) [4]

·         Gender Quota: Yes [5]

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 31 (20.5%) [6]

·         Human Development Index Position: 46 [7]

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Croatia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Croatia ratified CRPD: Yes (15 August 2007) [8]

·         Population with a disability: 669,727 (est.) [9]


Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Croatia

With Participation Rates