Sept. 11, 2020 Confirmed

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Islamic Republic of Iran

Election for Majles-e-Shura-ye-Eslami (Iranian Islamic Consultative Assembly)

More Info:

Election postponed from April 17, 2020 due to COVID-19.

At stake in this election:

11 of the 290 seats in the Majles-e Shoraye Eslami (Islamic Consultative Assembly)

Description of electoral system:

  • In the Islamic Consultative Assembly (Majles-e Shoraye Eslam) 290 members are directly elected in single- and multi-seat constituencies by a two-round vote, with members serving 4-year terms. Additionally, five seats are reserved for a representative of religious minorities, including Zoroastrians, Jews, Assyrian and Chaldean Christians, and Armenian Christians. All candidates to the Islamic Consultative Assembly must be approved by the Guardian Council, a 12-member group of which 6 are appointed by the Supreme Leader and 6 are jurists nominated by the judiciary and elected by the Assembly.

Note: In Iran, although political parties exist, larger coalitions often more accurately reflect political organization and structure, with the primary divide being between principalists, who advocated for power of the supreme leader, and more progressive-minded reformists.