Jan. 11, 2020 Held


Republic of China

Election for Taiwanese Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:14,464,571
Valid Votes:14,300,940
Invalid Votes:163,631

Vote Share by Candidate:

TSAI Ing-wen8,170,231


Daniel Han5,522,119


James Soong608,590

Election Results Modified: Apr 10, 2020

General Information

At stake in this election:     

  • The office of President of Taiwan

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Tsai ING-WEN (since 14 January 2019)
  • Head of Government: Premier Su TSENG-CHANG (since 8 December 2014)
  • Assembly: Taiwan has a unicameral Legislative Yuan with 113 seats

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by simple majority popular vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • The Premier is appointed by the President.
  • In the Legislative Yuan, 73 members are elected by simple majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms, 34 members are elected by proportional representation vote in a single island-wide constituency (including overseas compatriots) to serve 4-year terms*, and 6 members are elected by proportional representation vote in multi-seat aboriginal constituencies to serve 4-year terms.


*For these seats, voters select political parties, and members of the Legislative Yuan are then chosen based on candidate lists provided by political parties. Additionally, only parties that receive at least 5% of the vote are allocated seats, and at least half of the seats won by each party must be filled by female candidates.

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Taiwan

With Participation Rates